Neapolitan-Style Pizza Dough with Garlic and Italian Seasonings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making pizza dough. it was a great recipe and easy to follow, as well as super delicious. Of course like most any recipe on here i like to adapt them for various uses. My grandchildren wanted sloppy-joes, so i made my homemade sloppy-joe recipe and while it was cooking, i prepared the dough. i rolled out the dough to 1/4 inch thickness and used a round 5 inch cereal bowl as a dough cutter. Next, i plopped a gravy ladle full of the mixture on one-half the circle to within a 1/2 inch of edges, I made an egg was using 3 eggs and using a pastry brush to spread around entire circle, I topped the mixture with shredded cheddar cheese and lifted the remaining half of the dough over the mixture, sealing and crimping the edges with a fork. I baked the pies in a pre-heated 425 degree oven for 15 minutes until crust was light brown, and used the remaining egg wash on the top crust and continued to cook for an additional 10 minutes or until the pies were golden brown. From this pie crust recipe I got 18 individual sloppy-joe pies. My family fell in love with this and my grandchildren keep asking me when i am going to make them again! Bonn-appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
As I am an accomplished bread maker, I was really disappointed in this recipe. Dough would not rise, and pizza came out hardened and tasteless. Obviously needs more yeast and definitely NOT cold water. Will stay with my own yummy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
The recipe as written calls for WAY too much water. Once the extra water was accounted for by adding approximately 1 1/2 cups of extra flour, the crust was fine -- good texture, mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Did not like this dough. It was very sticky. Hard to form into a pizza shape. Once cooked it was too chewy and greasy. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Nice dough to make when you run out of bread flour! Used it to make little cheese pizzas with kids. They added black olive "eyes"with rosemary "lashes", and used a thin strip of red bell pepper for the "smile". I especially liked it having a long proofing time, this allowed me to prep the dough and have that mess cleaned up and out of the way before my little guests arrived to make their pizzas. Thank you Tony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This pizza dough definitely tastes good and is not so difficult to make. However, I either needed to reduce the amount of water by about 25% or increase the flour by about 25% because otherwise the dough turned out to be way too sticky to handle. Once this adjustment was made, it was really nice. Also, the number of pies you are able to make was far greater than 2 12-inch pizzas - perhaps I made them thinner than the recipe called for. Either way, you won't be disappointed with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I am not even sure if I did this right. I did use powdered garlic and it was fine I think. I used my bread maker to do the dough for one pizza only, and let it go through the cycle. Then I took it out and put it into a bowl with olive oil and let it rise for an hour. It did rise a little, probably half way. It may have risen further if I let it rise another hour. I took it out, and had to put it onto a baking/cookie sheet because it would have fallen through the reg pizza pan I use with holes in it. It was sticky and was not what I was used to for pizza crust, thought I ruined it... but put it in the oven for the 7 minutes to pre bake the crust (the smell was to die for!!). let it cool, put my toppings on and back in at 400 for roughly 16 minutes. The bottom of the crust was SUPER crispy and very flavorful!! This crust, well the way I did it, could really hold up to heavy toppings without it falling on your lap. GREAT RECIPE!!!! Just wish I knew if I did it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Fabulous! Nice and light yet flavourful. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TanyaZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States