Neapolitan Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made these with all-purpose gluten-free flour and 1/2 the sugar. The results were very good but pretty fragile--I had to let them cool completely on the baking sheet and then they were easier to handle. Next time I will use 1/2 the salt if I leave out that much sugar. Also I will add 1 t. xanthan gum to help it hold together. To spread the dough in the pan, I wet my hands and formed it into a flattened oblong shape, then laid in in the pan and pressed it to the edges. Like others, I used cocoa. For the white layer I just added 2 T ground almonds. For the pink layer I used 1 T strawberry jam & 2 drops red food coloring. Very good & fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the best made it for valentine's day very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I have made this every year since it first appeared in Southern Living back in the 80's or 90's! It's easy, festive, delicious - and has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
They came out too sweet for me. Tried not to overmix, didn't expect that chewy a texture for this type of a cookie. Maybe something else I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
did not love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Just made these...Put coconut in the white instead of nuts, and no almond extract in pink...They're so tasty! If I do say so myself :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
For those of you who like to bake using a scale, each of the three different layers weighs approx. 301 g. Instead of using different flavors, I chose to make them with three colors that matched the party's color theme. Very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Made these today and wow they were easy. They turned out ready well. I added double the red coloring just because, and I used minced almonds instead. Husband really enjoyed them and now waiting for the real test tomorrow when the grand kids come for a visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
They were ok. They came out looking perfect but taste wise they were ok. I didn't find them amazing in taste. For looks they would get a 5. For taste, to me like an average butter/sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yuuuuuum! I've had my eye on these for awhile but never wanted to wait 4 hours for them to freeze when I found myself in the cookie-making mood. I finally just did it, with a few changes I read from other reviews. I mixed red food coloring and several tablespoons of maraschino cherry juice for the pink section. (I had to thicken it a little with a bit more flour.) For the white section all I had on hand was coconut extract, so I added a teaspoon or so. A GREAT combo with the chocolate and cherry flavors! For the chocolate section I just added about 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder. Then, in my impatience, I took them out of the freezer after 1 1/2 hours and they cut PERFECTLY! I cut the block of dough into thirds and they made perfect size cookies. My only issue with these cookies is that we can't stop eating them! A fun addition to our usual cookie recipies! So glad I finally tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States