Neapolitan Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This recipe is a great concept, but going into it, I knew there would definitely be a lack of defined flavor, so I decided to change it at the get go. It turned out wonderful and my family loved it. I did use the strawberry flavoring, but I used about 1/2 tsp more. I then added an 1/8 cup of strawberry jam. (Next time I'll use a little more because my family LOVED the small strawberry pieces in the cake.) The chocolate cake batter DEFINITELY lacked chocolate flavor, so I added an 1/8 cup of Dutch cocoa and 6 tablespoons of melted bittersweet chocolate. (You could probably use semi-sweet.) I was NOT pleased with the taste of the frosting...it tasted more like confectioners sugar instead of chocolate. So, I added cocoa powder, a little melted bittersweet chocolate, 1/2 tsp of vanilla and enough milk to make it "drizzable." Turned out deliciously. Upon cutting the cake, we found perfectly marbled layers and will definitely make this cake again AND serve it with neapolitan ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I made this for my granddaughter's birthday--served it with neapolitan ice cream--and it was very good--moist & tasty--and it looked very pretty. I didn't have strawberry extract so I used 1/4 cup strawberry syrup in the strawberry part. I made a glaze using strawberry syrup and powdered sugar and drizzled it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I followed the recipe as written, except that I used 4 egg whites instead of 3 eggs to keep the cake white and made it in an angel food cake pan. And, I did have to bake it about 10 minutes longer. When it was sliced, I thought there would be 3 distinct layers of vanilla, chocolate and strawberry, but was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful swirl pattern. Instead of pouring the batter, I spooned all 3 layers into the pan. Everyone at work thought the cake was yummy and asked for the recipe. One of the ladies at work made it for a church supper and said there was none left to take back home~everyone loved it. Highly recommend this recipe. It would make a lovely presentation served with sliced neopolitan ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
this cake is absolutely delicious! Since I live on a military base that is not near anything else, I had to make do with what I had. The commissary doesn't carry strawberry extract so I just used Hershey's Strawberry syrup and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherBitner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Fun recipe! My layers stayed pretty intact - I poured the chocolate and strawberry batters over a spoon - so they wouldn't drop through the white batter. I used 1.5 tsp of strawberry extract and I also added 1 tbsp of chocolate malted milk powder to the chocolate mixture. Thanks a bunch!!! - will serve warm with neopolitan ice cream!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Super moist cake - wow! I did modify the recipe to using 2 tsp. of strawberry extract with 5 drops of red food coloring. I also did 1/3 cup of choc. syrup for a richer flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I baked this cake for my husband's birthday because my family loves their 'ice cream' and cake. They loved it! I have told everyone about this delicious and easy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Made this delightful cake for Valentine's Day 2012. I used a yellow Betty Crocker cake mix and even though the recipe did not require, I added 1 pkg. of instant french vanilla pudding, 1 t. of pure vanilla extract and 1 cup of sour cream. I substituted 1 cup of milk for the water and used 1 teaspoon of raspberry extract instead of strawberry. Excellent moist bundt cake - it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
very easy tomake and I didn't think it would be. Turned out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Wow! My neighbor just had a baby and I wanted to make something special for the visiting family and friends. This cake was a huge hit! The only two things I did differently were add a chocolate glaze, as well as a vanilla glaze (1/2 white, 1/2 pink) for presentation, and I couldn't find strawberry extract, so I ended up using a strawberry cake mix, too, and used 1/4 of that in the cake. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dariqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States