Neapolitan Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Fun cake to make, and my kids liked it. The flavors weren't very strong in the different layers. I would add more strawberry extract or syrup to the strawberry layer and maybe some melted chocolate to the chocolate layer. The cake came out very moist and did keep well for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've tried many recipes from this website and thought this would be a hit, too. Unfortunately, it was such a disaster. I was SO disappointed. What a mess! I will say that I diverted from the original recipe in that I followed another reviewer's advice to add one jar of strawberry ice cream topping to the batter for the pink color. It all went to the bottom of the pan! There wasn't enough chocolate flavor. Truthfully, the flavors all melded together, as did the colors, and it not only looked horrible but tasted horrible, too. Sorry, I tried:-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This turned out really well. We did add some additional chocloate syrup to the chocolate portion, and I took the advice of some other reviewers and added some strawberry jam to the strawberry portion. I choose to make 3 different flavors of the glaze but used a different recipe on this site for Vanilla Glaze and just altered it slightly to make vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry flavored. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuiper55

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this today and so pleased with the results. I used a Pilsbury white cake mix. I was a little concerned as some of the other reviews stated the cake was rather bland so I did make a few changes. To the white batter I added 1 Teaspoon of Vanilla extract. I replaced the strawberry extract with 2 teaspoons of Maraschino cherry juice. To the chocolate batter I added 1 tablespoon of Cocoa powder and 1/4 cup of mini choc chips. I did not use the frosting but drizzled teh cake with Wilton's Milk Choc/White Choc and pink candy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was so yummy! I made some changes: instead of strawberry extract I used a full jar of smucker's strawberry ice cream topping (you could probably use jam), this made the cake very moist and gave it nice strawberry chunks. For the chocolate I used 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa and 6 tbs of semi sweet chocolate chips (melted). I also made the cake in a ten inch spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was good. It came out exactly as I expected and was very delicious with neopolitan ice cream. I made it for my niece on request and she loved it. What I plan to do to make this different is to find a way to make it without having to use a mix. Otherwise, I wouldn't change it. I also used neon pink food coloring instead of red for the pink and it was a beautiful contrast with the brown and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I didn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great cake. I used egg beaters and omited the oil in favor of sour cream and lighter bake and it got rave reviews from my 3 picky boys and everyone at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very good! I doubled the strawberry extract for more flavor. Also, instead of mixing the confectioners sugar and chocolate syrup for the icing, I just bought some milk chocolate frosting, heated some in the microwave for 30 seconds and drizzled that over the cake. Love how all the flavors of the cake swirled together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkha00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I did use Strawberry Quik Syrup instead of the extract. Otherwise everything else was the same. To start off.....My cake was not pretty. No discernable swirl. Just a blob of chocolate in the middle and tiny lines of strawberry and vanilla around the edge. Also, there were too many flavors going on at once. I'd prefer one solid cake with one dominant flavor. Too much work for an ugly cake that had too much going on flavorwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States