Neapolitan Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I followed the recipe as written, except that I used 4 egg whites instead of 3 eggs to keep the cake white and made it in an angel food cake pan. And, I did have to bake it about 10 minutes longer. When it was sliced, I thought there would be 3 distinct layers of vanilla, chocolate and strawberry, but was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful swirl pattern. Instead of pouring the batter, I spooned all 3 layers into the pan. Everyone at work thought the cake was yummy and asked for the recipe. One of the ladies at work made it for a church supper and said there was none left to take back home~everyone loved it. Highly recommend this recipe. It would make a lovely presentation served with sliced neopolitan ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This recipe is great. My whole family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I made this cake several times and it is a hit always. Don't change a thing - except maybe use white and pink drizzle along with the chocolate for a festive look. This is a wonderful celebration cake because of it's beautiful swirls and great taste. BRAVO!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Fun recipe! My layers stayed pretty intact - I poured the chocolate and strawberry batters over a spoon - so they wouldn't drop through the white batter. I used 1.5 tsp of strawberry extract and I also added 1 tbsp of chocolate malted milk powder to the chocolate mixture. Thanks a bunch!!! - will serve warm with neopolitan ice cream!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Super moist cake - wow! I did modify the recipe to using 2 tsp. of strawberry extract with 5 drops of red food coloring. I also did 1/3 cup of choc. syrup for a richer flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I think this cake is great! I found a yellow cake mix can be substituted for the white cake mix. Also, the hershey strawberry syrup works great if you do not have strawberry extract on hand. Also, the recipe I have for this cake says to spoon carefully on top of the first layer, the strawberry layer then the chocolate layer. When baked and cooled, I sprinkle powdered sugar on top and slice strawberries for added decoration. I also found when baked, the bottom layer rose above the other two....all in all...this cake is a hit for neopolitan ice cream lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
There's just something about this cake that is so delicious. My local grocery store did not carry strawberry extract, so I had to substitute with an extra strawberry cake mix to get the strawberry layer. The glaze was good and not too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
The cake is very moist and delicious, I think I will tweek the frosting...tastes a bit weak. Otherwise it was good, color was very pretty too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I don't know if it was supposed to look that wierd, everyone took a bite with thier eyes closed, but the taste was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
this cake is absolutely delicious! Since I live on a military base that is not near anything else, I had to make do with what I had. The commissary doesn't carry strawberry extract so I just used Hershey's Strawberry syrup and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherBitner

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States