Neapolitan Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This cake turned out awesome. I wasn't sure how it would swirl itself but it does. However, I couldn't find strawberry extract so I went to the cake and candy store and got strawberry flavored oil. It only takes a couple of drops. I added some chocolate flavored oil too. Also, I frosted it with a cream cheese glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was a fun cake to make with my son. We used strawberry syrup as a substitution and it worked fine. The syrups don't seem to change the taste of the cake much but they do make for a surprising presentation. My son was so proud to show his father and sisters the "tie-dye" cake he made. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This cake is great! I like the swirls, I think it makes it unique. It was quite the hit at the Teacher Appreciation party. I used strawberry syrup, as we didn't have the extract here. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I have made this cake four time in the last two months for cook outs and parties. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by George
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I found this cake to be a vary easy and entertaining cake to make. The only problem I had was find straberry extract for which I still have not found. In place of the straberry extract I used a straberry spread. Not quite the same but it worked for the ocassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
this is the biggest failure of a recipe i have gotten off of this site. i even came up with a creative way to make the pink layer since i live in israel and there is no strawberry flavoring (way too exotic for here). i used strawberry jam and food coloring and it was great. i hand-spooned the layers on but they still totally mixed together and did not form even close to real layers. the whole purpose of this cake is appearance and this one was awful. also, mine did not stay together and i could not even get it out of the pan in one piece! i say DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. the one good thing i can say is that it tastes good in crumbly bits (i am pregnant and will eat anything though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simcha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is always a hit when I serve it at parties. Layering perfectly can be difficult, but don't worry if it starts to swirl because it still looks just as appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I made this for my granddaughter's birthday--served it with neapolitan ice cream--and it was very good--moist & tasty--and it looked very pretty. I didn't have strawberry extract so I used 1/4 cup strawberry syrup in the strawberry part. I made a glaze using strawberry syrup and powdered sugar and drizzled it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
this cake was very pretty, loved the way it look just wish it tasted as good as it looked, but it diddn't have any taste, I think if I ever decide to make it again I well work on the taste.because it was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This is truly delicious. I also expected three distinct layers, and was really surprised when I cut the cake and saw the swirl effect. A nice, light and moist dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States