N'Awlins Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Made this tonight and have to say it was *much* better than the run of the mill hamburger/tomato mixture. I did change a few things though: I added extra celery, 3 TBS of garlic(the kind from the jar), 4 tsp of creole seasoning and instead of the stuffing I added cooked rice in chicken broth - prior to cooking it was 2 cups) Then I added almost a cup of water so it wouldn't be too dry and 4 eggs for a binder ---- it was so YUM! It was a definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
OK! i have used this sight for years, i always thought that i should comment on some of the recipes, but never did. This recipe changed my mind. WOW!! It was easy and quick to make, the flavor was excellent! My personnal taste i would add kyane pepper to give it that southern zip. i used also used cornbread stuffing mix. and the ham gave it what it needed. Great Job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Loved these, and stayed pretty much with listed ingredients, with a tweak here or there. The only major change was to use cooked barley, which I had, instead of stuffing, which I did not. I think I will use the barley all time, as it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I am from New Orleans and this is exactly the way we make stuff bell peppers in the Deep South. This recipe is great - excellent, excellent, excellent! To help out some of the folks who is saying that the stuffing is dry do not drain the fat when you brown the ground meat. This is what makes it moist. If you do not want the fat included then you must substitute with another liquid (i.e., beef broth) before adding the stuffing mix. Remember to slowly add the amount of stuffing mix for the texture or consistency you prefer your stuffing to be. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This one is a keeper. I changed a couple things. I changed it for 2 servings and still had a ton of stuffing. I omitted the file powder, and 1st I browned the hamburger, when almost browned, I added the celery, green pepper and I used shallot instead of onion. I used cornbread stuffing...just what was in the cupboard, and halved red peppers to stuff...topped with shredded cheddar and the bread crumbs. Oh and I added beef stock to the stuffing for moisture.....it was soooooooo good! I served it as a side to Creolized Stuffed Chicken Breasts...a recipe on this site that I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Gives new meaning to stuffed bell pepper. Incredible flavor. I added sliced baby carrots for color and it added to the flovor. Great recipe!!! Kudo's to your mom!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These Bell peppers were awesome, the only thing I did different is boil the bell peppers before stffing them so they would be tender enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
These are just the way I remember my aunt making them for our Thanksgiving family get-together. This is the best recipe for stuffed bell peppers I have ever made. r u creole?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe so much I will make it for company next time. It is definetely going to become part of my family's cookbook. I used 6oz instead of 16oz of dry seasoned stuffing mix. I assumed it was a print error since stuffing comes in 6oz or 12oz packages not 16oz. Next time I will add some liquid to it to make it more moist. I used Emeril Lagasse's Essence recipe for the creole seasoning (you can find that on his website). The recipe had a lot of flavor and I loved it just the way it came out. But if you like things spicy you should add a little more Creole seasoning or spice it up some other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made this with rice instead of stuffing and topped with breadcrumbs. It was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States