N'Awlins Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I thought these peppers were delicious! I made them for about 20 people, and although next time I might spice them up a bit more, I thought they tasted great. I read a review that said that the stuffing needs to be made (meaning cooked) before adding to the meat and veggies, and that made for a moist filling, because you can make the stuffing as moist or dry as you want, depending on how much water you add. I also used the seasoned stuffing mix because I couldn't find the plain. Also, I flash boiled the peppers before baking and only baked them for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Thanks for adding this recipe. I too am from New Orleans and was in search of a Stuffed Bell Pepper recipe and this one popped up. I made it and it so reminds me of home. Instead of halving the peppers I kept them whole and it made 6 portions instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was a great recipe. Wait until you have a hungry crowd or scale the recipe down. This made more than 12 servings for me. Here's a few tips my mom gave me on my final product. If you're looking for more flavor, you can half the amount of ham and use smoked sausage instead. Don't add all the stuffing, add what you need and balance it with a little beef broth and water. Also, play with your seasoning blend according to your tastes. Boil you peppers before baking, because some people may eat the pepper also. Lastly, toast your bread crumb in a little butter before topping you final peppers. It will make them nice and brown on top (I didn't do this and they looked blah and uncooked on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Perfect, just like i remeber my mom making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
OMG!!! This was amazing and EXACTLY what I remember from home! Since relocating to Huntsville after Hurricane Katrina I search the web constantly for "Nawlins" style dishes. This year my husband and I hosted Thanksgiving. My husband and my in-laws are all from up north so I had to represent my culture (Creole) and city. This was a GREAT, the ONLY change I made was draining the fat from the beef and replaced it with beef broth (I tried to cut calories anywhere possible). I didn't measure, just eyeballed it. Well... I did add a cap full of Zatarian's Garlic and Onion Crab Boil for a little kick. EVERYONE loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The recipe was right on point I'm a New Orleanian too and of course my momma made it the same way all the time lol. She kept hers a secret, but this one was real close it was perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My husband loved these peppers. I did boil the peppers before stuffing them. It was quite a bit of work to prepare all of the stuffing, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Wow - this makes a lot of filling! I ended up adding an extra bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made this with rice instead of stuffing and topped with breadcrumbs. It was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Great recipe. Easy and flavorful. Just be sure your oven is big and your guests are hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groom, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States