N'Awlins Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I only had 2 peppers on hand, so I cut the recipe by half and put the extra filling around the peppers in the casserole dish. Hubby gave thumbs up! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was looking forward to making this dish because I love stuffed peppers and thought that it would be delicious. I'm sorry to say that it turned out to be dry and not very good. I followed the recipe exactly and even tried to recover it by adding more olive oil, but it didn't work. I would give it another go but it was a bit costly and time consuming to be experimenting. Thanks for sharing anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe is really good; however, for added flavor I used Italian Sausage instead of ground beef. I did not use File. I blanched the peppers and did not drain the stuffing which did reduce the cook time and added a bit of moisture to the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My bf is from New Orleans, and I knocked his socks off with this one!! He says they are the best peppers he has ever had!! Be sure to blanch the peppers before suffing them, and add an inch of water to the bottom of the pan while cooking to ensure they will be very moist. AWESOME!!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This recipe was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLOLASH
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Reminded me of stuffed crab rather than stuffed bell peppers, I guess because of the shrimp and I think if I make this again I will leave those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
These were great! I made a few changes. I had half the stuffing mix, so I supplemeneted with mashed potatoes. I used Campbells Creamy Tomato soup to add liquid (having read other reviews). Next time I'd like to add some corn. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Made this dish and they were gone in minutes -- really, minutes! I had a version of this in New Orleans for Thanksgiving and this was as good or better! This is a great recipe with a few modifications: 1) use only 10 oz of cornbread stuffing; 16 oz is too much; 2) Use spicy smoked sausage instead of ham; 3) do not pre-cook the peppers - they stand up better when filled if uncooked-no one eats the peppper -just cut the top off instead of cutting sideways; 4) added 1/2 can beef broth and 1/2 can cream of chicken soup for moisture; 5) used 3 cloves of garlic; 6) used cayenne pepper instead of file (didn't have file); 7) used season salt and italian seasoing instead of creole; 8) eliminate extra salt and pepper; 9) used 1lb beef and 1.5 lbs medium shrimp. Outstanding recipe!! Will make again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Very tasty! We were eating the "stuffing" right out of the pan. I did add water to moisten the stuffing mix in the recipe and it helped with dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
My DH loved these peppers. I used fresh parsley instead of dry parsley which bought out the flavors tremendously. I added medium shrimp instead of baby. I used ground chuck but i think 80% ground beef should be used for more of the beef flavor to stand out. The salt isn't really necessary. I also used a half of can of cream of chicken and a half a can of chicken broth just for moisture. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Easy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States