N'Awlins Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this recipe exactly per the instructions and it was so bland and void of taste. The seasoning recommended is not enough and the stuffing mix made the entire filling mushy and tasteless. I'm sorry to say I would never recommend this to anyone....:+(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
made this tonight and it was very good. made some adjustments, I will not take away from the original recipe, the only thing that I did differently was that I put the ingredients wit the uncooked ground beef and added one egg. That took care of the dryness. when it came out of the oven .perfection!!!! thanks for the recipe, N'Awlins in the house!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Needs work, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Bravo! Great recipe, and love that you can pretty much substitute amount/types of meat/stuffing to suit your taste. Husband LOVED it. It took some effort to prepare it all, but it was worth my time...not ALL lengthy prep meals are worth it...this was. Took advice from others and blanched the peppers so the bake time was shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was really good. I changed a few things. I love shrimp but I am the only one in my family who do. So I used ground turkey as my only meat. For more filling inside I used cabbage and rice and cheese. I also used homemade bread crumbs that I keep in the freezer for when needed. I didnt use just green peppers either I used all colors. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa's Fab Kitchen online

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I am a New Orleanian and this is just like my mother makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. I'm from South Louisiana as well, but these aren't like any stuffed peppers I've ever had. The flavor was an odd mix, like the cook couldn't decide whether to make stuffed peppers or gumbo. I won't bother to change it... I'll just start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Loved this!! Made this for a group of friends and they raved about it! I used 12 oz. of stuffing so it wouldn't be as dry, blanched the peppers before cooking, and baked it with about 1/4 in. of water in the bottom. It was definitely moist, and perfect when reheated for leftovers. I paired it with some Cajun Dirty Rice and cornbread... a new favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I had to doctor it up a bit. I also am from south Louisiana, but we make them a little different. The mix had a decent flavor, but needed some moisture. I added rice (as we always do in my region for stuffed peppers), extra garlic, a little tomato sauce, a little chicken stock (didn't have beef), and a lil extra bread crumbs (as I didn't have bread stuffing to start with). I took others' advice and blached them ahead of time, then topped them before baking with a sprinkle of bread crumbs and some cheddar cheese crumbles. The family liked it, but I wasn't very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I love this recipe! It was simple yet delicious. Instead of using ground beef I used ground turkey. I also added green onions to the veggies at the beginning. Before cooking in the oven I topped the peppers with bread crumbs and a little sharp cheddar cheese. Blanching the peppers was a fabulous suggestion, these were ready in about 25 minutes! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States