Navy Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was fairly tasty, and easy to make. It definately tasted better the next day than the day I made it. I'm just giving it 4 stars because it was good, but not wow good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was really good. I only soaked the beans one hour, and I dont think that was long enough, because I ended up having to bake it much longer, but it came out awesome! Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Hubby raved about this dish! He was truly HAPPY having it leftover!! We all enjoyed this dish. The only changes I made were adding a stalk of celery chopped up, 1/2 cup of white wine and 1/2 pkg. of Uncle Wiley's Bean & Pea seasoning. (This is a Southern thing, I think.) THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olney, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is great! I was surprised how fresh it tastes. I made it exactly as written except I didn't bake it, just simmered on stovetop 45 min. after putting it all together. Awesome flavor. Beautiful colors too! We had leftovers which we didn't mind. On those I did do some variations. The first one just adding freshly ground black pepper and parmesan cheese. Yumm! Next time around I added some half and half, parmesan and black pepper. YUmmm! Even better. 5 Stars for the original in my opinion. Use your imagination to make it 6 or better. Thanks Margaret for an awesome additon to our winter faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We all loved this. I did skip the baking part. I just made it on the stove as soup and served when beans were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Did not put in the corn or parsley, and used less than half as much sausage (Down Home, of course). For the broth, used bouillon cubes. Yummy - dad's brother and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
A pound and a half of purchased Italian sausage has 10,000 mg of sodium or more- 5 times the daily limit! and canned corn is high in sodium too....Unless you make your own salt free sausage and use fresh or (carefully selected) frozen corn I can't understand how this would work for someone on a low salt diet. 4 stars for taste, 1 for suitability for low salt diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
A little bland as written since I used sweet Italian Sausage. I added a bunch of Mrs Dash to keep it low sodium and this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was very delicious! I made this a day ahead and then reheated it on the stovetop for 20-30 minutes. I tried it the day I made it and the day after, the flavor was better on day two. My children liked this one. All gave 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Really good, considering how easy it is to make. Time consuming, as far as boiling, soaking, boiling, draining... but not a lot of work. Had no Italian seasoning, so subbed poultry seasoning and added other spices separately to compensate. Subbed great northern beans cause that's what I had. Ran the potato masher thru it to thicken it up before serving. The parents and I loved this with a touch of parmesan, but the husband did not like it at all. He's being outvoted because he doesn't like soups with sausage in them to begin with, and he still ate a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States