Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was pretty good and I like a good homemade bean soup. (I also rarely have a ham bone around so I take advantage of it when I do.) But it did take some time to make. I had canned Northern beans so I used an equivalent amount of those instead of dry and didn't add them until that last 30 minutes. I also reduced the water since the dry beans would have soaked some of that up but I was just guessing there. (I added it slowly and somewhat went by taste after it had cooked a while and then added some more.) Even though good, I don't see that it is better than other navy bean soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
The one thing that absolutely makes this recipe are the instant mashed potato flakes. I concocted my own spin on this recipe by using a little bit of leftover beef stew, removing the beef, and adding some chicken stock and broth into my Crockpot, a couple diced ham steaks, seasonings (ex: thyme, cracked pepper, onion & garlic powder etc.) and some Worcestershire sauce and mesquite flavored liquid smoke to finish it off. Make sure you add the instant mashed potatoes at the very end and eyeball it. You will get the creamiest, yummiest texture and consistency. My family ate up the whole pot in one night! Warms you right up after a long winters day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inblueparadise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good, it was hearty and flavorful. It makes a good meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Very delicious soup...the instant potatoes add the perfect consistancy. I did add more water as needed and also a drained can of petite diced tomatoes as well. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I used this recipe mostly as a base. I had some bacon i needed to use, and a little bit of andouille sausage, so I tossed it all in too. I didn't use the mashed potato flakes, and it was still yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This really wasn't anything special, and I won't be making it again. The potato flakes really didn't do anything for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great navy bean soup! I'd been making 15 bean soup & decided I needed something different. Made the recipe as given using my large crock pot & the simmering all day made a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
my family has made this soup 5 times since the cold weather has set in. I put it in the slow cooker. I cook the beans with the ham for 2.5 before adding all the rest. This is my families favor dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisedn_abarn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Delicious! This was my first time making beans and this recipe was not only easy to follow, but also received my husband's "seal of approval"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This soup was very tasty and I really enjoyed making it; however, it was a bit bland and very watery. I doubled the spices and had to use 3 times the amount of potatoe flakes to give it some kind of a consistency. I will make it again with less water. Still an excellent soup. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States