Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
The one thing that absolutely makes this recipe are the instant mashed potato flakes. I concocted my own spin on this recipe by using a little bit of leftover beef stew, removing the beef, and adding some chicken stock and broth into my Crockpot, a couple diced ham steaks, seasonings (ex: thyme, cracked pepper, onion & garlic powder etc.) and some Worcestershire sauce and mesquite flavored liquid smoke to finish it off. Make sure you add the instant mashed potatoes at the very end and eyeball it. You will get the creamiest, yummiest texture and consistency. My family ate up the whole pot in one night! Warms you right up after a long winters day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inblueparadise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I used this recipe mostly as a base. I had some bacon i needed to use, and a little bit of andouille sausage, so I tossed it all in too. I didn't use the mashed potato flakes, and it was still yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great navy bean soup! I'd been making 15 bean soup & decided I needed something different. Made the recipe as given using my large crock pot & the simmering all day made a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
my family has made this soup 5 times since the cold weather has set in. I put it in the slow cooker. I cook the beans with the ham for 2.5 before adding all the rest. This is my families favor dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisedn_abarn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Delicious! This was my first time making beans and this recipe was not only easy to follow, but also received my husband's "seal of approval"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great - did the following substitutions: Used 2 cans white northern beans instead of dried used 1 carton chicken stock Added 4 gloves garlic Used 2 medium potatoes instead of flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Loved this soup. It's filling enough for a main course with French bread and a salad. It's a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Made this soup for a bible study group at our church and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe, no modifications made. If my kids who are picky eaters eat it, it's 5-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This will be the only recipe I use from now on. What an awesome soup this is! The nutmeg, oregano and basil make this the BEST! Thank you Melissa and my family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States