Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Super recipe, using ingredients just as they are! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Family loved this! Will be making this again really soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cueball869

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This soup was outstanding! The only thing I did differently was I doubled the spices & added 3 cloves of Garlic & at the end I added a half a can of tomato paste to thicken. I didn't add the instant potatoes. It was so good. I will be making this again in winter when it's really cold!! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
ditch the potato flakes. When you add you onions add rest of veggies and spices. Cook 1 1/2 and remove ham hock. Puree half of the soup and put back in soup and it will thicken the rest of it. Add you ham back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a great recipe. I altered it by using .5 lbs organic bacon ( instead of the ham bone) which I fried in a large Dutch oven. I added 2 onions, chopped, about half way through the cooking process for the bacon. Once cooked, I blotted bacon/ onion mixture and botttom of the pot gently with paper towel to remove the excess fat. Then I used vegetable cooking water ( saved during week and frozen until needed) instead of plain water and one half liter of beef broth ( needed to use up anyway ;)) also I reduced the amount of beans and used fresh potato rather than dried flakes. The nutmeg really makes the recipe. I used whole nutmeg and grate it into the soup using a small fine grater. Good enough for guests I would say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Even better the next day! I left out the potato flakes and just let it cook a lot longer until the beans were super soft and that thickened it up to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
very satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Best navy bean soup I've ever made. I left out the nutmeg because I just don't like nutmeg in savory recipes and I didn't want to risk it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Simple and very good. I made a half recipe. Added a russet potato cubed (in lieu of instant potatoes) and about 1 cup of frozen mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, green beans, corn) at the last 30 minutes or so. Just some stuff I needed to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States