Navy Bean Soup with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Yum! I forgot to do the puree at the end but it was still delicious. I did saute up some veggies with bacon and sausage since I had no ham hocks. I also added in some hot pepper sauce since we like it hot. Cheap, easy meal that everyone really loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I made this recipe as is the first time and it was quite tasty without any changes. I think if you rate a recipe you need to follow the directions-at least the first time! I have made some changes since then. First I use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I also use two or three carrots and an additional clove of garlic (we like garlic). and an additional bay leaf since I use fresh bay leaves from a tree and they don't seem very strong. I also added about a half a cup of chopped celery leaves and a small diced potato. Rather than removing some liquid and putting it in the blender to thicken it, I use my potato masher and that does a fine job without having to wash the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan Hobbs
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious, and better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Hobbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe! I've made it several times now. I've modified it to use 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water; added chopped celery and a can of creamed corn; then thickened it at the end by using mashed potato flakes instead pureed beans. Rich, creamy and rib-sticking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Just made this during the horrible Vikings vs. Bears Football Game; Substituted 4 cups unsalted chicken stock and 4 cups Low-sodium chicken broth for the 8 cups water as some of reviewers have suggested. Also added more carrots (about 4 medium-small ones). Smells up the whole house and tastes good, and will console my husband, per husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Rasmussen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this today. I've used it as a base for my own spin. If I do not have leftover stuffing I use stove-top Savory herb flavor. I follow the microwave directions and dump it in the finished soup. I do not blend some as the recipe instructs, I find the stuffing dissolves and adds a wonderful stick to your ribs thickness and flavor that is deliciously irresistible. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naturally Doreen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Afton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a great penny pinching meal that's simple and delicious. I added a chopped up stalk of celery along with the onion. This is a great recipe to make ahead and reheat for those busy nights. This would be great without the ham for a meatless meal or you could even substitute a smoked turkey leg for non-pork eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Use chicken broth instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe! I did make a couple of changes to fit out tastes. First, I used 1/2 fat free, low sodium chicken broth and 1/2 chicken stock for the water. 2nd, I substitted two smoked turkey legs for the pork. You can find them in the frozen foods. I just put them in skin and all, when cooking the beans (they won't fall apart that way). When they're done and cool enough to handle, discard skin, bone and fat; putting the meat back into the soup. I used 2 carrots and 2 med potatoes chopped and upped the garlic to 3 cloves (we love garlic). If you like it spicy, you can add a couple of chopped, seeded jalapenos! Thanks for a great recipe Jerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States