Navy Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Simple yet satisfying. I did a quick soak on the beans instead of overnight and then simmered the soup for 2 hours and the beans were still tender. I used skinless turkey sausage instead of ham. I had to add salt but the family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Awesome! I wasn't sure considering the absence of seasonings, but you don't need them! I made it exactly as stated and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Although I had made some changes, this recipe is pretty easy to put together and very tasty. Instead of water, I added equal parts of chicken stock and vegetable stock, just covering the beans. I added onions, leeks, cabbage and carrots to cook with the beans. Later, I added potato. Came out beyond fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This recipe is great! And thanks to Amber for the brown sugar suggestion. That is exactly the flavor I was trying to capture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good soup. Will make again. Really easy with only 4 ingredients. I had no tomato sauce on hand so I used 1 jar (maybe 16oz) of my home-canned marinara sauce. One caution: in my experience, no matter what the cooking method, Dutch oven or Crockpot, you need to soak those beans overnight - unless they are the no-soaking kind. I wholeheartedly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I must admit-I didn't have high hopes for this recipe. I have other navy bean and ham soups I like better, and they don't have tomato sauce in them. I couldn't imagine liking this...but I did. The tomato sauce was subtle and gave it a slightly different taste. I didn't add the ham hocks because I have discovered they always make things entirely too greasy to suit me. Toward the end of the cooking time, I added some thawed leftover ham I had in the freezer. The only complaint I have is that this recipe needs salt, but that's not hard to add to my taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was super easy. Nice flavor, easy to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Use Great Northern Beans and put half of soup in blender when done then mix all together is much creamier. Add a little brown sugar and it taste like baked bean soup. Can use half ham and half bacon if you want. Gave 4 stars because I changed it some. I use to have a daycare and the kids liked it because it was sweet (and healthy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Simple and delicious! 1/19/11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
LOVE this soup! My family has made it for years. We do it just a bit different...we flavour the broth with a handful of black peppercorns, and when it's all done cooking we add half a bottle of ketchup. I was VERY hesitant to try it when my cousin made it for me for the first time, but I was blown away. How could such simple ingredients taste so good?!!? Very warm, filling, and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States