Navy Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We love this soup! We do a variation and use Northern beans and sometimes do homemad Italian sausage instead of the ham. Still very good and a very hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this dish. I soaked the beans over night.. in the crock pot I mixed the beans with a little bit of water, onions, ham hock, left over ham from thanksgiving, added carrots and corn.. instead of tomato sauce, I used a can of tomato soup and a can of tomato paste.. seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic salt and a dash of cumin. it simmered on high for about 6-7 hours.. it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Omitted tomato sauce added 1 cup brown sugar and that's IT. SOUP IS AWESOME!!!! Just goes to show you sometimes the simplest least fancy looking food can be the heartiest simple pleasure for everyone eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Although I had made some changes, this recipe is pretty easy to put together and very tasty. Instead of water, I added equal parts of chicken stock and vegetable stock, just covering the beans. I added onions, leeks, cabbage and carrots to cook with the beans. Later, I added potato. Came out beyond fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Strautz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
LOVE this soup! My family has made it for years. We do it just a bit different...we flavour the broth with a handful of black peppercorns, and when it's all done cooking we add half a bottle of ketchup. I was VERY hesitant to try it when my cousin made it for me for the first time, but I was blown away. How could such simple ingredients taste so good?!!? Very warm, filling, and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This recipe is great! And thanks to Amber for the brown sugar suggestion. That is exactly the flavor I was trying to capture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was super easy. Nice flavor, easy to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Excellent soup. Made alot but freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Awesome! I wasn't sure considering the absence of seasonings, but you don't need them! I made it exactly as stated and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Simple yet satisfying. I did a quick soak on the beans instead of overnight and then simmered the soup for 2 hours and the beans were still tender. I used skinless turkey sausage instead of ham. I had to add salt but the family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States