Navy Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Excellent soup. Made alot but freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was a good recipe but nothing like the navy bean soup of my memories. I remember them as creamy and without tomatoes. Nonetheless, it was good once I changed my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Until I made this recipe I had never had Navy Bean Soup and probably never will again. I expected the beans' consistancy to be much softer, especially since I soaked them over night and cooked them for 11 hours in the crock pot. The broth was greasy too. The funny thing is my dad actually liked the soup. I guess it's all in the perspective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlisonWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We love this soup! We do a variation and use Northern beans and sometimes do homemad Italian sausage instead of the ham. Still very good and a very hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Omitted tomato sauce added 1 cup brown sugar and that's IT. SOUP IS AWESOME!!!! Just goes to show you sometimes the simplest least fancy looking food can be the heartiest simple pleasure for everyone eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
LOVE this soup! My family has made it for years. We do it just a bit different...we flavour the broth with a handful of black peppercorns, and when it's all done cooking we add half a bottle of ketchup. I was VERY hesitant to try it when my cousin made it for me for the first time, but I was blown away. How could such simple ingredients taste so good?!!? Very warm, filling, and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Simple and delicious! 1/19/11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Use Great Northern Beans and put half of soup in blender when done then mix all together is much creamier. Add a little brown sugar and it taste like baked bean soup. Can use half ham and half bacon if you want. Gave 4 stars because I changed it some. I use to have a daycare and the kids liked it because it was sweet (and healthy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was super easy. Nice flavor, easy to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I must admit-I didn't have high hopes for this recipe. I have other navy bean and ham soups I like better, and they don't have tomato sauce in them. I couldn't imagine liking this...but I did. The tomato sauce was subtle and gave it a slightly different taste. I didn't add the ham hocks because I have discovered they always make things entirely too greasy to suit me. Toward the end of the cooking time, I added some thawed leftover ham I had in the freezer. The only complaint I have is that this recipe needs salt, but that's not hard to add to my taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States