Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is definitely a keeper. I always soaked the beans overnight, so I was curious to see how the beans would come out. They were perfect - better than when I soak them, because they weren't as mushy. I didn't have the diced tomatoes, so I used 8 oz tomato sauce and 4-6 oz of water and turned out just fine. I also used the Easter ham bone along with the chopped up ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Simply put... Great!! To those who get crunchy beans, add a teaspoon of baking soda to your soak water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoobydawg Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used 3 cups veggie broth and 3 cups chicken broth in place of the 6 cups water. I cooked it in a slow cooker all day. It was a delicious soup that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is really amazing. I did not add the ham, or the tomoatoes, and the flavor was perfect without. I did add carrots, and sauteed them with some garlic, onion and celery first. I dumped in the remaining ingredients as suggested and simmered for the prescribed time. I did not need the extra 3 cups of water at the end, either. I stored this in the fridge and ate it the next day. Really, truly, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this just as the recipe called for..only changed the bouillon cube to two table spoons of knorr chicken flavored bouillon..thus eliminating a need for a lot more added salt...the ham gave it the remaining salt needed..as others reported it was done in 3 1/2 hrs on the stove top..everyone loved it....might add some diced carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cotati, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I am sorry to say I was really disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly (I would never rate one otherwise), but it was not what I was hoping for. The beans were still hard after the cooking time specified in the recipe. It was too watery for my liking, and I didn't like the strong tomato taste. But this is of course, my own personal opinion. I will keep looking for the perfect Navy Bean Soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Wonderful flavor and a very substantial soup which can be a main dish. I used two smoked ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I always pre-soak my beans - just old school that way. Used this recipe to create a wonderful dish that hit the spot on a cold night. Thank you Angchick for a great recipe that we enjoyed tonight and will again very soon. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I like more hearty soups and made this with a 2 lb ham bone (1.5 lb of ham once bone was removed)and it turned out great. I did not add the 1 tsp salt and had to add a little more water at the end. The soup was the best navy bean soup I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this soup because I had lots of leftover ham, but no ham bone. I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon. I also used carrots instead of celery. I had about a 1/2 cup of tomato sauce to use up, so I subbed that for the diced tomatoes. I cooked the beans, drained, and rinsed them. I then sauteed the carrots, onion, and garlic, before adding the seasoning and tomato sauce. I then added about 2 C. of diced ham, chicken stock, and the beans. This turned out beautifully, and was even better the second day. It wasn't as good soup made with the ham bone, but a good alternative. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States