Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I was not sure about the tomatoes in the soup but it really turned out great. We will make this again. I did not use the ham or the Chicken stock, just veggie stock. I did add some liquid smoke and some smoked paprika. Kind of faked DH on the missing ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I will keep this for a good basic recipe for ham and beans. I did, however, substitute tomato soup for the canned tomatoes, because I don't care for chunks of tomatoes in ham and beans. I also added carrots and used smoked applewood sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Wonderful! I adapted a bit based on other reviews. Soaked the beans overnight, used a combination of stock from ham bone and chicken broth as well as cayenne pepper and extra black pepper. After a few hours it was good - after 8 hours in the crock pot it was excellent! Will be making this again ... And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
O EM GEE...you have no idea how happy this recipe has made me! My hubby loves this kind of soup, and usually I leave it to my m-in-law to make it for him. Today, I did the deed, and the results were so delicious - I may be a cook yet! I didn't have dry beans but I did have canned so I used them, and I used chicken broth in place of water as another reviewer suggested. This will go into the rotation, summer, fall, winter and spring! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My family loved this! I did make a few changes because of what I had on hand. I used northern beans instead of the navy, used chopped carrots in place of celery but added about 2 tsp of celery seed, and took others advice and used chicken broth in place of water and boullion (sp?). Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved this soup. Added just a tad more salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is definitely a keeper. I always soaked the beans overnight, so I was curious to see how the beans would come out. They were perfect - better than when I soak them, because they weren't as mushy. I didn't have the diced tomatoes, so I used 8 oz tomato sauce and 4-6 oz of water and turned out just fine. I also used the Easter ham bone along with the chopped up ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Simply put... Great!! To those who get crunchy beans, add a teaspoon of baking soda to your soak water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoobydawg Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used 3 cups veggie broth and 3 cups chicken broth in place of the 6 cups water. I cooked it in a slow cooker all day. It was a delicious soup that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is really amazing. I did not add the ham, or the tomoatoes, and the flavor was perfect without. I did add carrots, and sauteed them with some garlic, onion and celery first. I dumped in the remaining ingredients as suggested and simmered for the prescribed time. I did not need the extra 3 cups of water at the end, either. I stored this in the fridge and ate it the next day. Really, truly, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States