Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is definitely a keeper. I always soaked the beans overnight, so I was curious to see how the beans would come out. They were perfect - better than when I soak them, because they weren't as mushy. I didn't have the diced tomatoes, so I used 8 oz tomato sauce and 4-6 oz of water and turned out just fine. I also used the Easter ham bone along with the chopped up ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Simply put... Great!! To those who get crunchy beans, add a teaspoon of baking soda to your soak water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoobydawg Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used 3 cups veggie broth and 3 cups chicken broth in place of the 6 cups water. I cooked it in a slow cooker all day. It was a delicious soup that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is really amazing. I did not add the ham, or the tomoatoes, and the flavor was perfect without. I did add carrots, and sauteed them with some garlic, onion and celery first. I dumped in the remaining ingredients as suggested and simmered for the prescribed time. I did not need the extra 3 cups of water at the end, either. I stored this in the fridge and ate it the next day. Really, truly, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this just as the recipe called for..only changed the bouillon cube to two table spoons of knorr chicken flavored bouillon..thus eliminating a need for a lot more added salt...the ham gave it the remaining salt needed..as others reported it was done in 3 1/2 hrs on the stove top..everyone loved it....might add some diced carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cotati, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I am sorry to say I was really disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly (I would never rate one otherwise), but it was not what I was hoping for. The beans were still hard after the cooking time specified in the recipe. It was too watery for my liking, and I didn't like the strong tomato taste. But this is of course, my own personal opinion. I will keep looking for the perfect Navy Bean Soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Wonderful flavor and a very substantial soup which can be a main dish. I used two smoked ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I always pre-soak my beans - just old school that way. Used this recipe to create a wonderful dish that hit the spot on a cold night. Thank you Angchick for a great recipe that we enjoyed tonight and will again very soon. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I like more hearty soups and made this with a 2 lb ham bone (1.5 lb of ham once bone was removed)and it turned out great. I did not add the 1 tsp salt and had to add a little more water at the end. The soup was the best navy bean soup I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this soup because I had lots of leftover ham, but no ham bone. I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon. I also used carrots instead of celery. I had about a 1/2 cup of tomato sauce to use up, so I subbed that for the diced tomatoes. I cooked the beans, drained, and rinsed them. I then sauteed the carrots, onion, and garlic, before adding the seasoning and tomato sauce. I then added about 2 C. of diced ham, chicken stock, and the beans. This turned out beautifully, and was even better the second day. It wasn't as good soup made with the ham bone, but a good alternative. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States