Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was my first time making navy bean and it turned out really well. I used half chicken broth and half water and no chicken bouillon. If I was to make it again I think I would put a little less of the Worcestershire sauce in it just because it has so much flavor. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
You MUST make this soup! I was thoroughly impress on how savory this soup turned out. I made it in the crock pot and left it on low for about 8 hrs. Didn't use a lot of salt since I knew my left over ham bone and bits were salty. I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Awesome soup! I used left over roast beef gravy plus added chicken broth to equal the 6 cups it was about 2/3 & 1/3 respectively. It was OMGoodness good!! I also used smoked hog jowl and hickory smoked long link sausage (1 lb) because that is what I had on hand. The sausage was added towards the end. Try it beef gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juju

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was so good, I thought it was a bit salty but other than that it was delicious. I will definitly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This turned out very good. I used bacon instead of ham, and left out the tomatoes (that was not on purpose!) Next time I hope to remember to add the tomatoes. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
WOW!!! This is so easy to make! It only took two hours... If I can do it, so can you. Since trying to take out salt from my diet, did the following: Instead of the canned tomatoes I used freshly picked tomatoes from my garden. Only used 1/2 teaspoon of salt and feel could have used none at all... Added chopped carrots for color and one chopped slice of turkey bacon. Incredible flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is an excellent and flavor filled recipe. As for the beans not being done beause of the tomatoes, just cover the dried beans with water in a stock pot, bring to a boil for two minutes, turn off the heat, cover and let soak for an hour. Drain off the water and put the beans back in the pot with the recipes ingredients and the beans will be be done in the stated time. I did add carrots and had no celery in the fridge, so I used a handful of dried celery flakes. I used leftover ham and cooked the beans for an hour with the hambone before removing the bone and adding the other ingredients. I also pureed my tomatoes with my immersion blender only because I like the creamier consistency it gives to the broth. Just tasted it and it's yummy. Can't wait for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was great - omitted the tomatoes and bay leaf, and added a few extra chicken bouillon cubes, probably would have still tasted great as is. Soaked beans overnight and put in crockpot on high - was done by 4-5 hours (did add some extra water). Kids even gobbled it up (5yo & 3yo!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I did not care for this soup. Since it could be a personal taste thing, I did not want to give it a bad review. It didn't have any off flavors, but just an overall taste I didn't like. The majority of the flavor I tasted was smokiness from the bacon, but little else. Also, You may want to cook the beans alone (in water) 1 1/2 hours before adding the other ingredients. Using tomatoes or other acidic things at the beginning, will make it so the beans will either not cook all the way through or it will take 8-12 hours to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I am not a big soup eater but this was very good.I used fresh tomatoes and chicken stock in place of water. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States