Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
loved, loved, loved it !!! I didn't add as much water in the end since I like my soups rich, but followed the recipe as written and it was great - and easy !!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
So yummy! Reminded me somewhat of canned bean with bacon soup but so much better! I added carrots like others have suggested to try to incorporate more veggies. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. It turned out great! Everyone who tried it complimented my cooking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent and worth my 5 stars. I only made a few minor changes. I soaked the beans over night. I didn't have onion so I used dried minced onion. No celery so I used dried celery seed. I didn't add the parsley, or garlic powder. I used 3 Ham hocks, a cup of carrots, and 8 cups of water..It was very delish and a recipe I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and was pleased. Great meal for my diet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I just made this today and it was a total success, except for my 2 and a half year old. The only difference I did was I used hunts fire roasted diced tomatos, added carrots, and I used turkey ham. It was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really good soup. Tasted even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Hawver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this for the first time and my husband couldn't eat enough! I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annetteide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was excellent! I used a ham bone left over from christmas and no additional meat and it was perfect. Also used fresh tomato since I had extras and 2 carrots. I went ahead and added the extra 3 C water in the beginning only because I needed to cover my ham bone and it only simmered for about 3 1/4 hours covered since we like our soup a little on the brothy side. Right before serving I added about 1T vinegar to cut the sweetness from my glazed ham. This will be my navy bean soup recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was great, and even my son who doesn't like beans enjoyed it. I cooked a leftover ham bone in the 6 cups of water for about an hour, then added the beans and cooked for another 2 hours. At that point I added the chopped ham, 4 pieces of cooked bacon, and the veggies because I didn't want them to get to soft or overcooked, and I cooked it for another hour. I also threw in a couple of chopped carrots and a potato at this point. I accidentally forgot the tomatoes, and I didn't have any garlic powder, but it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Making this again tonight for dinner. I'm not a big bean eater, but this...I LOVE. Very easy recipe. I think I've made it enough times now that I almost know the recipe by heart. Very tasty. I like it with a nice hard roll. Can also easily be made vegetarian by leaving out the ham and using vegetable bouillion insteand of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States