Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Excellent. Make it a day ahead. So good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was so delicious and easy. I already made navy beans so all I had to do was throw everything into the crock pot and put it on high before I left to workout. When I came back I had a nicely simmering, flavorful soup waiting for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I loved this soup! It was thick and hearty and a blizzard was blowing outside! It made me feel warm and cozy. I did use turkey bacon instead of the ham and was delicious. I did soak my beans for an hour and a half on the stove. Put everything in the slow cooker and was amazed at the final outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
love this so much. I use 2 chicken breast in place of ham. I saute 3-4 garlic cloves & the onion in olive oil & then add to the soup. Also I soak my beans in spring water for 24 hours prior to making... dump out the water you soak the beans in add fresh spring water. very tasty meal! I also serve over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent. I didn't have to add extra water at the end - but I did add carrots and potatoes and my family loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Perfect for lunch or supper in the winter. The kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Incredible with a few tweaks. I soaked some mixed beans overnight, then I cooked the ham bone with the initial ingredients and six cups of liquid (three chicken stock, three water. Added an extra clove of garlic, and tossed in three chopped carrots and some lentils about 45 min before it was done. Never added the last three cups of water. Incredible, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This wouldn't fit in my 4 quart crockpot so I went with low flame on the stovetop. Read several reviews here so made some mods but also tried staying true to the original. Soaked beans 1hr prior, rinse. Sprinkled a little brown sugar just in case tomatoes effected beans. Added all ingredients at once except turkey ham (my only sub) went in the last 1-1/2 hrs. Also at that point added 1 small bag baby carrots chopped & 8 petite red potatoes chunked. After 2hrs all my water was absorbed & beans still firm so I don't know how people didn't add the remaining water, maybe it's different in a crockpot? About 30min before finish I put 4 big spoonfuls in the food processor then dumped that back in the pot to make it creamy instead of watery. End result was great flavor & thickness, will definitely make again! ps- left out the salt & didn't miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
loved, loved, loved it !!! I didn't add as much water in the end since I like my soups rich, but followed the recipe as written and it was great - and easy !!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
So yummy! Reminded me somewhat of canned bean with bacon soup but so much better! I added carrots like others have suggested to try to incorporate more veggies. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. It turned out great! Everyone who tried it complimented my cooking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States