Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I like more hearty soups and made this with a 2 lb ham bone (1.5 lb of ham once bone was removed)and it turned out great. I did not add the 1 tsp salt and had to add a little more water at the end. The soup was the best navy bean soup I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this soup because I had lots of leftover ham, but no ham bone. I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon. I also used carrots instead of celery. I had about a 1/2 cup of tomato sauce to use up, so I subbed that for the diced tomatoes. I cooked the beans, drained, and rinsed them. I then sauteed the carrots, onion, and garlic, before adding the seasoning and tomato sauce. I then added about 2 C. of diced ham, chicken stock, and the beans. This turned out beautifully, and was even better the second day. It wasn't as good soup made with the ham bone, but a good alternative. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this pretty much as directed and initally wanted to rate the recipe a 3. It seemed like it was missing something. I didn't use the tomatoe as that didn't appeal to us and I used mostly chicken broth in place of the water (and still added the bouillon but didn't add any salt and found it didn't need it.) I soaked my beans for 8 hours and threw it all in the crock pot and cooked for about 8 hours. It seemed pretty watery and kind of greasy, so I skimmed almost a cup of grease off the top which made a considerable difference (I used a meaty ham bone,) and I added about an 1/8 of a cup of hot sause, mashed down some of the beans, and cooked it for another 2 hours. I decided to rate this a 4 when my son and daughter couldn't get enough of it! Thanks for the recipe! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ertgreen
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious! I soaked the beans overnight and they still had a nice firmness. I thought it was a little watery so I puréed part of it once it was finished and then cooked on high 30 minutes with the lid off to thicken. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is a truly good bean soup recipe. What makes it so is: no presoaking of the beans; no sauteeing; no odd, hard to find ingredients; superb flavor. Right before I finished the simmering I scooped out a cup of the beans, pureed them, and threw the puree back into the pot. This made the soup creamy and thick (but not too thick) without having to cook the beans even more. The soup is complex with a little bit of texture from the tomato and onion bits. I made the recipe exactly as written, and discovered also that 8 oz of cooked ham already chopped can be purchased at the grocery store. Now there's a first. I really, really like the great flavor and simplicity of this recipe--it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delicious! I had no ham, so I substituted with bacon - awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Used 15 bean soup mix (1 20oz. bag); 1 bag northern beans (1 lb. bag); 1/2 cayenne pepper and 1/2 black pepper; 1 tsp. celery seed (no celery as didn't have on hand);minced onion; minced garlic; 8 cups water instead of 12; 3 tsp. ReaLemon;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Presoaked beans to reduce cooking time, sauted carrots, celery and onion with oil before added other ingredients. Also added barley (2 c.). Since we had precooked beans, the amount of water called for still worked well (maybe could have used more). The barley cooks during the last 20-30 minutes or so. My husband said there were too many beans (I think we could have used some more liquids, but since I didn't have a can of tomatoes, that played into it some, too.) We are freezing the second half. Lastly, we made it vegetarian and had some ham on the side for meat eaters to stir in. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Thank you for this great recipe. I use "Better Than Ham" bouillon instead of the chicken bouillon and thicken the soup by mashing some of the beans and adding back to the pot. Your recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very good flavorful soup. I used a ham bone and cooked everything together. Removed the bone and fat at the end of 2 hours. Used chicken stock in place of the water and also added carrots, more fresh garlic(didn't use the powder) and onions. I used fresh parsley too. Also added liquid smoke and 4 T. of cider vinegar at the end. I didn't add anymore ham as there was quite a bit on the bone and I also did not add 3 more cups of water - probably just added another cup of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States