Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe was great! Instead of straight water, I did use half chicken broth. I also added a few dashes each of paprika and cayenne pepper. My mom used to make a variation of this soup when I was little, but this was so much better! (sorry Mom) I will definitely be making again.. this is the perfect winter soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Fantastic!!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Unbelieveable recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I made this for the teen group at church. The theme was "Living Simply so that others can Simply live". After tasting this, I'm not sure it fits the theme, it so SO GOOD! I tripled the recipe, and used canned chicken broth. I also added carrots for color and used rotel tomatoes. Instead of ham (which would get pricy) I used some turkey sausage I had on hand. It was great! Just a hint that my dear grandmother gave me: Don't cook the beans in the same liquid you soak them in and you will gut down on the gassy side effect of bean soups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
My husband was having a potassium difficiency, so I went in search of recipes that were high in potassium. My husband grew up with navy bean soup, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. My husband won't eat ham, so I substituted 1/2 lb. chopped smoked turkey. I like things with a little spice, so I used Rotel tomatoes, which contain green chilis. Because the Rotel tomatoes come in smaller cans, I used two cans and reduced the water by 1/2 cup. My husband really enjoyed it. He said when they were kids, they would load it up with ketchup, but that wasn't necessary. There was plenty of flavor and potassium - this fit the bill exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This soup was very good. i cooked it in a slow cooker. I admittedly made some changes. I did not have celery. I used navy beans, chopped tomatoes, carrots, corn, red and yellow peppers, basil, salt and pepper and 4 bouillon cubes with 8 cups of water. I did not use ham and I forgot the garlic, but the soup was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNCANDACE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I love this soup. I only changed 1 thing or 2. I did not have ham or ham bone so I used the leftover ribs from this recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Slow-Cooked-Country-Ribs-in-Gravy/Detail.aspx I always have mass leftover ribs so this is a great way to use up the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jezebele_n_hell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I just went to my deli counter and asked for two thick slices of ham and then chopped it up at home. After the soup was finished I took out about a cup and a half and pureed it in my mini blender. This made the consistency of the soup just perfect! a little bit more of a creamier base....All in all, it was just simple and healthy and turned out delicious! I also took another reviewer's advice and made some cornbread to go with it and that made a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
it was ediable, I put everything into the crock pot as other reviewer suggested and it smelled great but, it tasted like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
For the most part I followed the recipe as written except I followed one reviewer's tip and added carrots. Also cooked the ham bone as one suggested and omitted the salt. This is a very good and flavorful soup as written. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States