Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
It was pretty good except was a little bland. I added more salt. My hubby sure liked it. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
What a fantastic soup! So easy and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe except for a few things. I soaked my beans for 24 hours,changing the water twice. I also slow cooked the recipe in a crockpot for approximately 12 hours. I left the ham bones in, until the beans finished cooking, then removed them to allow more room in the pot. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Great starter recipe. I made the following changes and everyone raved about the texture and flavor. I made this with leftover honey smoked spiral ham from Christmas dinner. I removed most of the meat from the bone and simmered it for 11/2 hours with 2 bay leaves,which were then discarded. While this was cooking the beans were simmered for 11/2 hours. Using 5 cups of water from the ham bone and 4 cups of chicken broth I drained and added the beans, ham cut in bite size pieces, tomatoes, onions, celery, 2tbs minced garlic, worcestershire sauce,pepper and two course chopped carrots. A few shakes of Franks red hot and liquid smoke kicked it up a bit. Simmered this for another 2 hours and served with cornmeal biscuits. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This has to be the best bean soup I have ever eaten-my husband and I LOVED it! And I know many people hate it when people post that they like it and then say what they changed-we did make 2 changes. First, I chopped two carrots very fine and added to the soup. Second, we used a ham hock instead of just ham. It isn't too salty, and is delicious. I am adding this to my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Made this for NYE party at work, very good flavor. Presoaked beans after reading reviews. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I invited family over to share this and I should have made a double batch. We literally licked the pot clean! I used a hambone, added carrots and omitted the tomatoes and celery for personal preference. Other than that, everything was the same. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Wow! This was the best navy bean soup I've ever had! I only made a couple of changes. I had a VERY meaty honeybaked ham bone so I stewed it with onions, celery and bay leaf the day before I made the soup. I strained the stock, refrigerated overnight and skimmed the fat the next day. I separated the fat and bone in the solids from the stock and returned at least a half pound of the stewed meat into the soup recipe. I prepared the remainder of the recipe as directed, substituting 4 cups of ham stock and 1 can of low sodium chicken broth for the original six cups of water. I also substituted low sodium chicken broth for the last three cups of water. I did not add any salt as the ham provided plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe was great! Instead of straight water, I did use half chicken broth. I also added a few dashes each of paprika and cayenne pepper. My mom used to make a variation of this soup when I was little, but this was so much better! (sorry Mom) I will definitely be making again.. this is the perfect winter soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Fantastic!!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States