Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Oh my goodness, this soup ROCKS. I used the leftover meat and bone from a ham and followed the recipe pretty closely - I did omit the extra salt and ended up adding water once more because I cooked it longer than the recipe calls for. It was outrageous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
great recipe, just what I was looking for !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Outstanding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
A good recipe. I prefer my soups a little thicker, though. I added carrots, extra bouillon and extra celery. I didn't have any onion on hand, so I omitted that. It was a very hearty soup. I made more than I needed so I can have a yummy and healthy soup ready to eat!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is really good. The only changes I made was to add carrots and I used ham soup base instead of chicken boullion. Next time I will wait for the last 2 hours of cooking to add the celery, carrots and ham. They got a bit mushy for my taste cooking from the begining. Can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Easy to make. Good taste. Great texture. I used more pepper and less salt. If you keep it covered the whole time it is cooking the amount of liquid is perfect. Next time I am going to have to cut the recipe in half. This makes a lot of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very savory, and easily altered to your taste preference. I don't use ham very often: if I have it, I do, if I don't, it's great w/o it. I don't think the soup needs the bay leaf. Sometimes, I think people put them in becasue they are expected in soup... this one has so many flavors and spices already, it just gets lost and almost leaves a bitter aftertaste... Maybe it is mixing poorly with another spice. I add extra cayanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Good recipe, but make sure your beans are fresh! I made the mistake of grabbing a bag of beans from the back of my cupboard. Stale beans will never soften no matter how long you cook them. I ate it even though the beans were dry and the skins were tough, but my husband and daughter had chicken nuggets. I'll have to try again after I've given my husband enough time to forget about this mishap. I gave it 4 stars because of what it could have been =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very easy, delicious. Made with ingredients already in the pantry, no special or exotic ingredients. Whole family loved it, would double it next time to fill my 5 qt crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I cooked this in a crock pot. If you go this route - you want to up the setting to high for the last 2 hours or so to make sure the beans are adequately cooked. I added extra celery. The next time I prepare this I'm going to add more hame. A great meal for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ship's Galley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States