Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Just the recipe I've been looking for! Extremely easy to prepare, and the results are delicious! We had this for dinner tonight, and it was a definite comfort food after having a week of El Nino storms. The only ingredient I added was a half-teaspoon of brown sugar. This helps cut the acidity some canned tomatoes have. I used navy beans that had been in the pantry for a while, so it took about 5 hours total to prepare the soup. I didn't have a ham bone or hocks on hand, so I used a ham steak. I really liked the fact that pre-soaking was not required. This recipe is a definite recommend!--Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was a really great recipe. It was a little more liquidy than I expected and I only added 2 or the 3 extra cups of water halfway through. I will do this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I like this as a base. The reason the beans didn't cook in the recipes is becasue they added the tomatoes too early. Acid in tomatoes will keep the cellulose in vegetables esp beans bron breaking down...I boilb for ten munites then simmer the beans for one hour. I also used chix and veg stock...I use more water and put in mashed potatoes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
the whole family said it was the best bean soup they ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
A very outstanding basic bean soup. I had never made a bean soup before so I read the comments of others and ended up with the following mods (and a great soup): PRE SOAK THE BEANS overnight, this reduced cooking time to 2 hrs, double the Worcestershire Sauce, parsley, and powdered garlic, add some Franks hot sauce, feel free to over do the ham. I skipped the tomatoes b/c the acid could impact the beans cooking. Great recipe, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthvilleLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great Recipe. The only change I made was added Rotel tomatoes with green peppers. I doubled it, thinking I would be able to freeze for another meal, but not much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Ehh, this was just so so for me. I cooked it for 8 hrs in my crock pot and the beans were still a tad hard. Used 1/2 chicken broth/water combo, and left the tomato out. It just didn't have enough oomph to it, for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a very good and easy recipe for bean soup. I used a can of Ro-tel tomatos which added a little kick. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie Kirkpatrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very Good (used a crockpot) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The best Navy Bean Soup I have ever made! Thank you! I wish I had doubled it! I did add some saltpork, but other than that followed directions exactly and it was awesome! Thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States