Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
A very good soup!!! I gave it 4 stars because I did alter the recipe a bit. I used a ham bone instead of chopped ham and WOW it was over the top!!! I also only used 6 cups of water and cooked it for 5 hours on high in my crock pot. I did soak my beans overnight and then drained them and put them in the crock pot with everything else. Before serving, I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top and it melted nicely into the soup for a little extra flavor. I WILL be making this again for my family!! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I just made this soup & it is as good as everyone said it was. Thanks for a recipe I will make time & time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great soup after I cooked it "my way". I use ham stock (I make, then freeze) from a leftover ham bone (or use smoked ham hocks?) I recommend using this for any bean w/ham soup for rich deep flavor. Maybe I should post a recipe for this, eh? Onwards: I did "softly" boil navy beans (w/tblsp of Baking soda) for 3 minutes (use a large pot as it will foam up) turn off heat & let em sit for an hour. Drained/rinsed beans then adding to 4 cups ham stock in clean large pot. I used bay leaf, celery, onion, garlic, 1 tblsp Worchester & additional water to cover beans by 1". I did add 3 diced carrots too. *Don't add tomatos or anything acidic during 1st 2 hours or your beans won't soften (as stated previously.) I think a tsp of liquid smoke would add some dimension if you don't have stock to use. I didn't need chicken bouillion and use salt (if needed) during last hour. I did add some cayenne pepper & tsp of dried thyme. Soup has better developed flavor the next day! A splash of lemon juice shortly before serving gives any bean soup a bright note of flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is ok, not great on flavor. Perhaps hot sauce added in while it was cooking would have helped, or as one other reader posted, using a mix of beans instead of just navy beans, would have helped with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROUBLEINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great recipe! Did as others did and waited to put the tomatoes in. Used chicken paste instead of bouillon. Did not have quite enough Worcestershire sauce but still came out perfect - definately a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My family and I absolutely love this recipe! the only thing I do different is I use a combination of Pinto, Navy and Great Northern beans. I always serve it with a mexican cornbread recipe from this site and both are wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canute, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was just ok. Probably something that I will not make again. It felt like it needed a little more something added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Just the recipe I've been looking for! Extremely easy to prepare, and the results are delicious! We had this for dinner tonight, and it was a definite comfort food after having a week of El Nino storms. The only ingredient I added was a half-teaspoon of brown sugar. This helps cut the acidity some canned tomatoes have. I used navy beans that had been in the pantry for a while, so it took about 5 hours total to prepare the soup. I didn't have a ham bone or hocks on hand, so I used a ham steak. I really liked the fact that pre-soaking was not required. This recipe is a definite recommend!--Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was a really great recipe. It was a little more liquidy than I expected and I only added 2 or the 3 extra cups of water halfway through. I will do this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I like this as a base. The reason the beans didn't cook in the recipes is becasue they added the tomatoes too early. Acid in tomatoes will keep the cellulose in vegetables esp beans bron breaking down...I boilb for ten munites then simmer the beans for one hour. I also used chix and veg stock...I use more water and put in mashed potatoes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States