Navy Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I followed the recipe but used 6 cups chicken broth instead of water and cooked down a ham bone in 3 cups of water with celery tops for later. I added LOTS of carrots (as my family loves them). I did a quick soak of the navy beans before starting the recipe to soften them a bit more. I added a tidge of liquid smoke and chipotle tobacco sauce. I also added about 3/4 cup of instant mashed potatoes at the end to thicken it up. I also added an extra can of navy beans because I like lots of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Great recipe! The only change I made was to add a can of Rotel Tomatoes with green chilies instead of the diced tomatoes. I grew up on navy bean soup, and this was even better than mom's (don't tell her I said that!) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Overgaard
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Fabulous just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I made this yesterday - according to directions with the exception of adding carrot slices at the end for color. While it was cooking, I wasn't sure how I felt about the Worchester Sauce but as the beans softened and opened they seemed to absorb some of the sauce taste and by the end of cooking, it was perfect! My son & granddaughters stopped by and loved it as did my sister. In the end, by the time I divided some off for the others, I ended up with only a few bowls for myself! I will definitely use this recipe from here on. I've made bean soup for years but this version is even better. I hate when people use a recipe and change half the ingredients - then they rate what is essentially not the same thing at all. I don't think I really "changed" much by adding the carrots - they're just a part of almost every soup made around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Rostad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This recipe calls for chopped ham... but I see people referencing the ham BONE in their comments. I used CHOPPED HAM, which has no bone. Mine's cooking now and it smells wonderful... I hope I didn't screw it up. Based on the ease of preparation, look and smell, I'm giving it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelie Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was awesome, the only thing I added extra was powdered cayenne pepper. I like to make a recipe just like the poster recommends the first time I try a new recipe. Then the second time I add my own changes. How else can you say you've tried it if you make too many changes. I'ts no longer the same recipe. I know I added cayenne but I like a little heat. This will be made again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I probably had a lot more water in the first phase of cooking since I boiled down a ham bone first to start the broth because I didn't need to add more water. My soup was done in only 1.5 hours. I also put baking soda in my bean water soak so maybe that made them softer anyway. The flavor was just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this soup and it was delicious! I like my soups thick so I added a bag of butter mashed potatoes along with a cup of water with 2tbsp of flour whisked in til smooth. I also use a ham shank instead of diced ham but diced ham is also good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great soup! I used a can of tomato soup rather than diced tomatoes. Next time I will skip the salt, I think ham seems to be salty enough in general. Glad I have more ham bones in the freezer for another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I was not sure about the tomatoes in the soup but it really turned out great. We will make this again. I did not use the ham or the Chicken stock, just veggie stock. I did add some liquid smoke and some smoked paprika. Kind of faked DH on the missing ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves Greenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States