Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe! I did tweek it abit for our personal tastes. We used a chopped tomato instead of tomato sauce and coconut milk for milk and heavy cream. I thought the spicing was just wonderful, we will definitely be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! My hubby is indian so we eat alot of indian food. I will be making this again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Great recipe! Since I don't like a lot of spicy "heat", I cut the amount of cayenne in half. It still had a "bite" to it, and several of my guests found it a little too spicy for them. Next time I may cut the cayenne down a bit further. Be sure to use golden raisins - I used dark raisins and they looked like bugs mixed in! I added some cauliflower flowerettes like my favorite Indian restaurant does. That restaurant also adds a little fresh cilantro, which I'll add next time since I love cilantro. I couldn't find garlic paste and ginger paste, so I just used fresh minced garlic and fresh minced ginger. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
We revised this recipe to make it less spicy for the kids, but we all loved it. We also left out the cheese as we are vegan. We'll definitely be making this on our regular recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is my favorite Indian dish, however, this recipe just didn't cut it for me. I used ground almonds, since that's what I had on hand. It doesn't say when to add the nuts, so I added them when I added the paneer. I didn't fry the paneer, as that's just extra fat. I just tossed it in as is and it held its form. After I fried the onions, I added all the spices and cooked the mixture just until the oils from the onions separated, then added the tomato sauce. It's suppose to infuse the flavor. My boyfriend's mom always cooks Indian food (her husband is Indian) and never uses milk or cream. Those are the ingredients that make the dishes so heavy and fattening. Instead she uses Paval's Non Fat Russian Yogurt, which is what I used. This dish was much too hot for my tastebuds. Next time I'll use red pepper flakes instead of cayenne to my liking. When an Indian dish is too spicy hot for you, just add yogurt, which is sour and will balance out the heat. I also added a little bit of cauliflower, since that's how it's served at my fave restaurant. I'll definitely try this again with modifications, as I've had little luck on finding a recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Duck
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is an exception version of the classic Indian dish. This is an excellent opportunity for home cooks to try a complicated Indian dish. The spicing is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
We added a bit of brown sugar, extra raisins and more tomato sauce than it calls for... this could have been the best Indian meal I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is so very good! Wonderful mixture of flavors. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This is delicious. I had to leave out the paneer the second time I made it as I was out. It's great either way. The only thing I changed was to add a little maple syrup or brown sugar as I liked it a little sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States