Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe! You can really use almost whatever veggies you have, which is the beauty of it. I used a red and orange bell pepper, squash, potatoes, tomatoes, golden raisins, carrots, walnuts, coconut milk instead of cream, curry powder instead of garam masala, and ginger powder instead of the paste. It turned out great!! I *highly* recommend pairing this with the Indian Style Basmati Rice: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Indian-Style-Basmati-Rice/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was great! The addition of brown sugar is a must! Plus, I cut down on the veggies so it was saucier. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Absolutely divine, and quite easy too! I wasn't able to find any paneer at any of the local grocery stores, so I ended up making my own by curdling heavy milk with lime juice, and letting it air dry. I too substituted some coconut milk for the regular milk in the recipe, and added fresh cilantro. I just finished the leftovers on a tortilla for lunch today, and it was just as good as last night! This will be a regular recipe at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I'm blessed that I live in an area that has good Indian restaurants because this is among one of the worst things I have ever cooked. Worst of all I made it for my boyfriend for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Very good, almost as good as what I had at an Indian restaurant, EXCEPT I did NOT like it with tomato sauce. I should have known, since I don't care or it ordinarily, since it has paste and sugar in it, but was following the recipe exactly. It added a sweetness that I really didn't care for. Once I added the cream and salt, it helped mellow that out. Next time, like another reviewer, I'm going to add a can of pureed tomato instead. Also, I used walnuts for the nuts, and wow, they're so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I am a huge Navratan Korma fan, it’s always the first thing I look for when we eat out at Indian restaurants. I was very happy to see this recipe, and started gathering ingredients to make this dish. I was not disappointed in this recipe, it was great! It was even better the second day, it re-heated really well! I would highly recommend a trip to the store to get the garlic and ginger pastes; they are used frequently in Indian cooking and are an added benefit to your pantry! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This dish was so delicious, I will be using this as a regular recipe! To save time(and just 'cause I was lazy)I used frozen mixed vegetables, and I cubed the potato into pea sized pieces(as per other reviews), cooking it in oil before adding the onion. Reduced the cayenne. No nuts in my cupboards, no problem!! Great even without. No paneer, either....just added extra veggies. Next time I will make sure to have cashews and paneer on hand, though. The raisins were a great touch. There were just enough in the dish to leave me wanting more. Also, I used part yogurt and part cream instead of milk and cream. I will be making this again and again! Thanks for such a fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is a fantastic dish! I cut the cayenne in half (for my kids' sake) and added a little more water to the sauce. I usually leave out the paneer and use milk instead of cream. My husband, who has eaten this dish in the Middle East many times, says to make sure ALL the veggies are cut into pea-sized pieces. It does seem to cook faster that way. Served over brown basmati rice, this is a very hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was awsome! I've made it several times. I never put in the paneer and it was still great. If you don't like a lot of spice like me, I suggest significantly reducing the cayenne. This is definitely one of my favorite indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Made this for my first dinner party ever - added coconut milk to the cream and milk, and also added pineapple at the end. I omitted the paneer since I made it with the Absolutely Amazing Palak Paneer from this site. I also omitted green beans and peas. The pineapple added a sweet, unique addition and much to my relief, everyone loved it - I actually ran out of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States