Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a tasty recipe but did not taste like a traditional Indian korma that you would get in a restaurant. I followed the directions except did not saute the paneer since I enjoy the soft texture of it. My husband also commented that he enjoyed it but did not think it had the same taste of a regular korma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
awesome! I didn't have paneer, so made it without - it was delicious. it could have cooked a little longer, the potatoes weren't quite done. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was just ok, not sure why. I think maybe it's my fault and I should have cooked it for longer. It just didn't seem like all the flavors married and the vegetables weren't quite soft enough. I might give it another try:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good, but made some modifications to suit our taste. Didn't use nuts. Used thickly sliced onion rather than grated. Used tomato puree rather than sauce & 1/2 of what was called for. Added 1 tsp curry powder. Didn't use raisins, carrots, green beans, potatoes or paneer. Instead used cauliflower, green & yellow squash, orange, yellow & red bell peper & chopped asparagus. Used coconut milk instead of plain. Served with Basmati rice, naan & raita. Was great. Nice dish that you can make with really any veggies on hand or to your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is a perfectly seasoned korma, and it's very similar to the one I used to get at my favorite authentic Indian restaurant, in New Jersey. I made a few changes: doubled the garlic and ginger (per the recipe creator's additional instructions), added a pinch of fenugreek seeds, used a cup of pureed fresh tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, subbed cauliflower for green beans, and subbed coconut milk. I also sauteed the onion in coconut oil, omitted the paneer, and toasted the nuts in a dry pan and added them toward the end. This was a bit sweet but absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Hi all. I made this recipe originally, but I have added a few tweaks since then that I thought I would pass along. 1. Double the amount of garlic and ginger paste. 2. Add a teaspoon of fenugreek leaves towards the end of cooking, and a tablespoon of butter when the milk and cream is added. 3. It saves a step if you sautee the onion first, then add the nuts and raisins to the onion and cook until the raisins start to puff up. That way you don't have to take the nuts out and save them while the onion is cooked. Doesn't seem to make any difference in the flavor. Also, I chose not to use cauliflour cause it seems to get mushy in the sauce, and I think carrots and potatoes really work well, but that's just my personal opinion. Anyway, thanks for all the great reviews, I'm glad everyone is enjoying the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
delicious! I served this with garlic naan and everyone ate way more than they were hungry for, but it's okay because it'smostly just veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Great recipe - I skipped the paneer and may leave out the milk and cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I love this! I used curry paste instead of the spices, and I used a can of coconut milk in place of the milk/cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Very good. We left out the cayenne pepper and even our 18 month old twins ate it over rice (they are pretty good eaters though). We just added a bit of cayenne to me and hubby's plate and it was delish! We'll be adding this to our dinner rotation and the fact that it's so healthy is even that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States