Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was the first Korma I have ever made. I changed a few things: coconut milk for milk, crushed tomatoes for tomato sauce, didn't have any garam masala made up and was in a crunch for time so I subbed Madras curry powder. I enjoyed the coconut milk in the recipe, but have no doubt that it would have been better with the garam masala. I'll make some up beforehand next time. This recipe is exceptional. I look forward to making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I always order Navratan Korma at Indian restaurants, and this really nails the flavor. I did it "by the book" this time, but I might change a few things next time around: 1. Cut the cayenne in half. Granted, I used "extra hot" cayenne powder, but this recipe was a bit too spicy for all who ate it. 2. Use only cashews. Cashews take on an amazing sweet flavor when toasted. Pistachios are OK but not as good, and almonds are a bit strange - little flavor and odd texture. 3. Replace some or all of the milk/cream with whole milk yogurt. I served it with yogurt to cut the spice, and the yogurt really complemented the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I am a vegetarian who loves Indian food. Navratan korma is my favorite! There is another vegetable korma recipe that I use at home which I really like, but it's not quite perfect. So when I saw this one I was very excited! Unfortunately, my husband and I were disappointed. We did not include the paneer since the grocery stores near us did not carry it. I also only used 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne for our 6-year old's sake. I still thought the hotness was disproportionate to the other spices. We couldn't taste any of the nice flavor from the turmeric, etc. This dish was not bad, I just didn't think it was that great either. This didn't seem to taste much like the navratan korma we order at Indian restaurants. We probably will not make this again, and will continue to look for a good, authentic korma recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My favorite indian dish :) I use golden raisins instead of regular. Many times, I use a bag of frozen veggie mix (carrots, green beans, corn, lima bean, peas) to make quicker. Can use evaporated milk to reduce the fat. They type of curry matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
best Indian dish I've made from allrecipes thus far! i substituted tofu for paneer, and still came out great (prob since consistency is similar). thanks lunacity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
To make it low fat, I used all skim milk and a tablespoon of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I have used this recipe many times with different variations of veggies, and it always turns out great. I ALWAYS double ALL the spices, and I usually omit the raisins cause they're just not my thing. For a vegan version, I use coconut milk instead of milk & cream, and extra firm tofu instead of paneer, and it is still amazing! I often use tomato paste + a bit of water instead of tomato sauce, as it's a more concentrated flavor. I think the most essential part to this recipe is the ratio of spices. Once you have that, you can do anything! Different "gems" I have used include broccoli, cauliflower, chick peas/garbanzo beans, soy beans, different colored bell peppers... also vegetarian "meat" balls. Anything goes, once you have the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty close, except: I used only almonds (what I had on hand) Canned crushed tomato No potato, cauliflower instead (yum) Tofu instead of paneer Coconut milk instead of dairy 1 extra teaspoon of tumeric It tastes great, but not like the Korma I get at the restaurants. Perhaps it's that I don't use cream? Oh, and some fresh chopped cilantro is very pretty as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I wasn't thrilled about this. The spices weren't quite the same as my fav. rest., and I think I really prefer a yogurt base for the thickness and sweetness. My husband liked it, but I think I'll keep looking for a staple korma recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Looks and tastes great. I used fat-free milk and cream in the recipe and it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by espie718

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States