Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I really liked this recipe and will definitely make it again! A few notes: I used half the amount of cayenne based on previous reviews, and still found it spicier than I preferred (but still delicious). I did everything else exactly as written, but used frozen peas and green beans rather than fresh. This is not a difficult recipe, but I don't think the "10 minute" prep time listed is realistic given the amount of chopping, assembling of various ingredients, frying, draining and soaking the paneer, etc. It took a lot longer than 10 minutes but was definitely worth the time. Also, I have noticed that some other recipes for this dish call for soaking the nuts and raisins and grinding them into a paste. I think this must be what my local Indian restaurant does, because I felt the sweet, nutty flavor was infused in the whole dish when I ordered it there, rather than just having bites of that flavor here and there in this version. Both are good - but I think I'll try making the paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Awesome recipe. Added 1/2 cup of half and half and 1/2 cup coconut milk. Also, substituted 1/2 of the raisins with dried cranberries. Also, added chopped tomatoes in addition to the tomato sauce. Added chopped cilantro and roasted cashews at the very end. Absolutely divine recipe. Family ate this dish with pooris and peas pulav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
we really enjoyed this. i added some zuchinni that needed to be used up. didn't have any cream. added some coconut milk and regular milk. Thanks for the post LUNACITY :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was a FABULOUS dish. I'M a vegetarian who's starting to expand her horizons and try different dishes from every part of the world. Loving Indian cuisine I found this gem while search for a new dinner idea. I must admit I had to tweak the recipe a bit, I added more curry, red crushed peppers, pepper & additional salt, cauliflower, mushrooms and tofu. It came out wonderful. I truly enjoyed the rich creamy flavor of the heavy cream making it's flavor different from the coconut milk. This recipe receives a 5 star from me and my husband who was stuffed by the time he was able to see the bottom of his bowl. Thank you for sharing. C. love Jordan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have used recipe now 2-3 times, it is delicious except it to liquidy, limit water content to half or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Definitely a tasty way to prepare veggies as a main dish. Not the creamy korma I was expecting though. The spicy kick was there but there was something lacking. It was a little on the sweet side...missing a savory flavor...just can't place it. I did leave out the green peppers and added cauliflower instead. I also used all cashews. I would do the same again...next time cilantro and maybe fennel seed will be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Probably saved my marriage, since I'd been too lazy to go shopping and had to make do with whatever I could find (i.e. zucchini, potatoes, paneer and some dodgy-looking carrots ). I substituted creamed coconut for the milk and cream, and hubby was so dazzled by the coconut-curry-nut combo he didn't notice the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was the first Korma I have ever made. I changed a few things: coconut milk for milk, crushed tomatoes for tomato sauce, didn't have any garam masala made up and was in a crunch for time so I subbed Madras curry powder. I enjoyed the coconut milk in the recipe, but have no doubt that it would have been better with the garam masala. I'll make some up beforehand next time. This recipe is exceptional. I look forward to making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I always order Navratan Korma at Indian restaurants, and this really nails the flavor. I did it "by the book" this time, but I might change a few things next time around: 1. Cut the cayenne in half. Granted, I used "extra hot" cayenne powder, but this recipe was a bit too spicy for all who ate it. 2. Use only cashews. Cashews take on an amazing sweet flavor when toasted. Pistachios are OK but not as good, and almonds are a bit strange - little flavor and odd texture. 3. Replace some or all of the milk/cream with whole milk yogurt. I served it with yogurt to cut the spice, and the yogurt really complemented the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States