Navratan Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I love this! I used curry paste instead of the spices, and I used a can of coconut milk in place of the milk/cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Very good. We left out the cayenne pepper and even our 18 month old twins ate it over rice (they are pretty good eaters though). We just added a bit of cayenne to me and hubby's plate and it was delish! We'll be adding this to our dinner rotation and the fact that it's so healthy is even that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Use sultanas in place of the raisins (more customary Indian cuisine), and make your own paneer (cottage cheese); it's easy enough and makes the dish. You can buy naan at just about any major grocer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I made this last week with half and half instead of cream, cauliflower, potato, peas, and red pepper. I cut the potato up into small pieces and it easily cooked in about 7 minutes. I omitted the tomato, as I've never seen korma with tomato in it. I did not use paneer either. Very easy and delicious to make. I would disagree with others who say this takes a long to make -- I made it in about 30 minutes. Next time I will just use milk, as I found the half to half to be delicious, but heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My boyfriend is lactose intolerant, so I skipped the paneer and substituted soy milk for milk and pureed silken tofu for the cream. It tasted great, so he couldn't even tell it was nondairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was a lot of work, but well worth it. Even my Indian friends were impressed! I will make this again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Husband gave this 5 stars! I used 1 pound of extra firm tofu instead of the paneer and the potato. I browned the tofu on all sides in a separate pan in very hot canola oil and sprinkled with salt. The only other substitution was that I used 7 ounces of greek yogurt instead of the milk and cream. I was a bit worried about the flavor when I tasted the sauce before adding the yogurt. Sure enough the yogurt made it a success! Oh I guess I should add that I used pecans instead of the nuts that were suggested b/c that is what I had - tasted great. Really really yummy! I served it with barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Delicious! This was my first time making an Indian dish and it was really easy and turned out really well! I used half the cayenne pepper and golden raisins as others suggested and i'm glad I did. I used mixed frozen vegetables, which was easier and turned out great. I also substituted the milk for coconut milk. Love it and will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is one of my all time favorite recipes!!! The only downside is that have a hard time enjoying Indian food from restaurants now that I can make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Banbury

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent! I like to fry the paneer in a bit of ghee first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States