Navajo Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
dear staff as a real navajo fried bread eater i think someone goof..typo error...instead of 2 tablespoon of salt..try..2 teaspoon of salt..this is definately too salty...or in my opinion i go for 1 teaspoon of salt. Other than that i think it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This recipe was not so good. There was too much salt and too much liquid. I found a different recipe on the net and tried it and it was perfect. It was much like this one but with less than 1/2 the salt and not so much liquid. If you cut down on the salt and liquid, this actually turns out well. Perhaps there was a typo in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
My Navajo adopted mother taught me to make Fry Bread with 3 cups flour, 1 cup water, 1 tsp Baking Powder. Because most Navajo would not have access to milk and most frying is done in an open pit or on a wood stove, the recipe is a very simple flat bread that is fried. It is the topping that makes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Another good fry bread recipe! Only thing though, you might want to edit the salt. Two tablespoons is -alot- of salt. I only used about 1 or 2 teaspoons last time I made this. Other than that it is good! Mine always seem to come out a little small, haha! ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This is the recipe I have been looking for. I did reduce the salt as was advised by others. Will make this again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
Way too much salt! Cut it down and you will get a wonderful fry bread and you can use it for anything. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is a "family size" recipe that makes a lot of fry bread. I would 1/2 it or even 1/3 it for two people. I found the dough to be far too sticky to pat out into individual servings. Next time I will add less milk and roll out the dough to make it thin enough to make tacos. It tasted good, but needs modifications to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I believe the amount of salt is not correct, maybe cut down to 2 teaspoons. Very salty otherwise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
been trying to make good fry bread for my family for few years now.with this recipe I have done it.They all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
very tasty and fast. tastes great and is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States