Navajo Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Family all thought this was good. Put taco fixins on top. The ratio of dry to liquid worked perfect at least in my kitchen. The only thing I changed was I decreased the amount of salt. Will make for tacos from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris53182

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe and even better as a base recipe. Using the milk makes a great texture. I cut the batch in half w/o a problem but then also mixed in lots of cheddar cheese. They were great cheese sticks. We tried the reciepe with and w/o cheese and both were great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This isnt the original recipe sorry to say. im from monument valley and know what a good fry bread is. cant make it w/o the dry milk . o and its great with roassted mutton and chilli hmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This fry bread is very good.It does blow up when you fry them pretty much, so be careful when you fry them.I made them with all the taco fixins.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wild Rose, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I have a friend that is Navajo. He and I got together to do this recipe. With a bit more flour and 2 teaspoons of salt, the recipe tasted like his Mom's. Make sure the oil that is used for frying is good and hot, otherwise they will taste greasy. Also, he said that they are best if fried in hot lard. My friend made a topping that is similar to taco filling with beef, beans, tomato sauce and spices that was absolutely delicious. He topped each one with cheese, lettuce and fresh tomato pieces. We ate them "tostada" style. As with many family recipes, there is no recipe, I am still trying to replicate that so that I can continue to make them for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burns, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaigeCentral
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This recipe cannot work as written- flat out! I'm so glad I read the reviews before trying this one. It comes out WAAAAY too wet, would be very bland, and the salt is too much. After making several modifications it came out great. I upped the flour, decreased the salt, added garlic and thyme, and for the milk, I was short on milk so I used 1/2 the portion of milk and the other 1/2 was vanilla yougurt. My husband loved it (he ate 3 pieces alone) and my 3 year old also enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaigeCentral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oegstgeest, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
It calls for a little less flour than anticipated as the exact amount will very with altitude, humidity, weather, etc. It is FAR easier to add a little bit extra than to have it be too stiff and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Like many other reviewers of this specific recipe, it is much too salty and not enough flour (or too much milk)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
A fairly good recipe, definitely cut down on the salt though! @ Vanessa5, fry bread IS a nation specific food. When Native Americans started being forced onto reservations and separated from their traditional foods, they had to make do with the lard, flour and salt they were given.So...fry bread. Also, I'm Canadian too and around here we call fry bread "beaver tails." Pretty corny, I know :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Please, won't someone edit this recipe! Two tablespoons of salt is way too much. I was in a hurry and didn't think about it and now I feel like I wasted five cups of flour. I put the extra cup of flour in because it was too sticky to pat out. Use less milk and salt and it should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States