Navajo Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
With some alterations, this was a great recipe. As per the other reviewers, I cut the salt to two teaspoons. I also cut the milk to 2 1/4 cups, and added about a half cup of flour as I formed the balls. This went great with Spanish rice and spicy beef with onions. I will make again. Note, though, that this makes a LOT of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
They should call this navajo salt bread instead. Not very good. Hopefully it is just a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was very easy and tasty. I don't think I patted mine out flat enough, I ended up with an inch thick bread that was fairly dense. It was still delicous with honey and butter, and great for dipping into our chili. I did reduce the salt quite a bit per other reviewers recommendations. Also had to reduce the milk a tad to be able to work with the sticky dough. I will make this again, I think it would replace a lot times I use biscuits. Thanks for the quick and easy bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Tasted good. I couldn't get me dough workable. It was very sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heflin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
These did not work for me. The dough was very sticky, and very crunchy when fried. It was not bread at all, and a total waste of ingredients (especially flour). It turned out to be something like chips with no taste. My Dad (being a Wichita indian) said that fry bread is very hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made a 1/2 batch of this bread for dessert and it was AMAZING! Heated 3/4c oil in a wok and fried by the piece...perfect! Topped with honey and the family loved it. BTW, you have to cut the salt to 2tsp! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe tasted really salty to me. The texture was nice and I liked how quickly they cooked up and how tender they are. Lots of people are using yeast-based fry bread nowadays, so having a traditional one was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I USE ONE TABLESPOON SALT. I MAKE FRY BREAD AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK AS I AM NATIVE AND THIS RECIPE ISN'T LIKE THE ONE MY GRANDMOTHER AND MOTHER TAUGHT ME. I TRIED AND IT WASN'T THAT GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
The color and form of this bread was lovely. Too bad it was like drinking the entire salt shaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
So yummy! I grew up eating Fry Bread often in Arizona and this recipe did not disappoint. This is extremely tasty and extraordinarily quick. Now for the changes--luckily I read the reviews so I did the 2 tsp salt and went ahead and added flour until it would be ready for ordinary bread--tacky but not sticky. If you are in a bread mixer like a Bosch, this would be when the dough all pulls away from all sides (and middle for a Bosch). For me this was 5+ cups of flour, but I don't really keep track exactly for bread. I will be making this often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States