Navajo Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I cut back the salt, but also ran into the same problem with too much liquid. I basically made up my own recipe. Wouldn't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
very good, glad I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Way too much salt, would cut back and do 2 tsp, not tbsp. Also too much milk or too little flour. Way too sticky, impossible to roll into anything. Had to put another cup of flour in it just to grasp it, then used more flour so it didn't stick to my hands and to the counter. Would have been good had it been way too salty. Indian tacos were a bust tonight :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
wayyyy to salty and had to add more flour because too much liquid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Followed the others advice and reduced the salt to 2 tsps. I think if I ever tried this again I would roll it out much thinner. They just tasted like big fried balls to me. We put chicken and beans and cheese on top, like the indian tacos you get at the fair, but I ended up just eating the chicken off mine since the bread didn't turn out so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Easy and tasty. I did as others suggested and didn't put all the salt in it, I only used about a teaspoon. The finished fry bread is really light and delicious compared to some other fry breads I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Not my favorite recipe, and probably won't be using again. Too dense of a bread for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Oh! Yummy! We made nava tacos and it has become an instant family favorite! We had a similar recipe in our history book, so we varied it between that recipe and this one. 1 1/2 cups warm water and 1 cup of milk and we only needed 1 Tbsp of baking powder and obviously only 1 tsp salt. It turned out well. I don't like shortening so we used coconut oil to fry them and it was oh so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were good as Navajo tacos. However, we added only one tablespoon of salt and that was still too much. I think the person who submitted this may have meant to say two teaspoons of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Okay, I never rate recipes this low however, the measurements are off on this one. A) to much salt (I realized this when reading the recipe) B) to much milk (with all milk added the dough was impossible to work with). Once I adjusted the flour and fried they were great. Sorry I had to rate this a 2 but this recipe has only 4 ingredients and 2 were off in measurement. Once you adjust everything the bread is fantastic =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States