Navajo Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Well, this recipe is complicated enough, but no good. I have 3 Navyjoes to feed and they were not impressed. I have used the non-fat dry milk powder in my frybread, as well as regular room temp. milk and with good results. The secret to frybread is in the mixing, as any good fry bread maker will tell you not ice water or sea salt, its the way you mix your dough, and don't forget to put some love into your dough! Cast Iron skillet is best for not burning your bread as another poster stated. I have never put lard in the mix, yucko, and if you mix the dry ingredients right first, then make a well and mix in the wet ingreadients just so, and never forget the love of your family as you are mixing and don't over mix you can cook without the two hour wait and make your authentic frybread. Love is an essential ingredient, never make it when you're mad! hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Uhhhh....NO I don't like this recipe it tastes nothing like bannock so scratch the "Traditional Part". MMM! bannock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I live in the heart of Indian Country and have all my life. I am not Native, but definitely know what fry bread tastes like. Like tortillias, fry bread can be made simply, but can also taste great with new ingredients and any of a million substitutions. I like this recipe and appreciate the subtle flavor imparted by the milk powder, which is the only deviation from the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucienrune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I'm also native american and this is not a great recipe. I'm with the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I was wondering if the raters who are Native Americans could post their traditional recipes for Fry Bread on here. I live in Arizona and would LOVE to have a true recipe for this delicious native dish. I am going to try this recipe and see if it is better than the one I have had for years. It comes out tough when I try to make it from the recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Agree with many other reviewers.....far from traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This recipe sounds great,i will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
not tradional!!! I agree with a few other comments! being Osage I would not eat this real fry bread has 3 main parts. sugar, salt or other favors are options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Wow, I have never seen fry bread like this, and have at least a dozen recipes! Had to try though. Nothing like my Grandmothers made. Quite strange for someone raised on fry bread. Good, just not fry bread. Grandmother told me how the Old People made fry bread to live through lean times, hard to imagine them having kosher salt and ice water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
this is how fry bread is made! hmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States