Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I come back to this recipie every year. Soft and delicious everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
these are the most amazing gingerbread cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sropp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fantastic, and I originally made these in a college dorm kitchen--which means anyone anywhere can make them. Everyone I've ever made these cookies for has loved them, and I now get requests for these each December.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I am not a huge fan of gingerbread cookies, but I really liked these, I couldn't stop eating them. These cookies were soft but still held there form well. The only thing I did different, based on other reviews was add a sprinkling of nutmeg, other than that no changes. I added some decoration and they were seriously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Dough was ok for rolling and baking but there is too much molasses. The cookies came out dark and tasted too strongly of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have never reviewed a recipe on this site, never had a bad experience until now. These cookies are very bland and the dough is not easy to work with. I'm an experienced baker and this cookie does not make the cut. I read the reviews after I made my dough and realized many people added a significant amount of extra spices (nutmeg, cloves, more cinnamon). I agree with these adds the cookies would be great. As written this recipe is not worth the time or money. I gave it one star because they were moist and held their shape well (I refrigerate after cutting for about 15 before putting in oven, helps with no spreading).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Love this recipe! I replaced the lard with Crisco Butter Flavor shortening and whisked it until it was mixed well. I also added an additional tsp of ginger, a quarter tsp of cloves and a dash of nutmeg. I prepared the dough but didn't bake for over a week and the dough was still perfect. This is now my go-to gingerbread cookie dough! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Eubanks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very easy recipe to follow. They turned out fabulous and firm but soft. They were excellent for gingerbread houses. I did make some minor changes after reading some of the reviews. I used shortening instead of lard because it was what I had on hand. I also added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. of cloves for extra spice flavor, but I like that it has less ginger than most other recipes because usually I think Gingerbread has too much ginger. I also used only five cups of flour and then floured dough as needed to keep from stinking. I thought this made the flavor turn out perfect without being too bland or too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Made 83 cookies (I had some small cookie cutters and big ones) Totally awesome, several days later still SUPER soft & delicious. Big hit with the fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmalou082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Tried this recipe and shared it with a friend who was born & raised in Quincy, IL and was looking for a good gingerbread cookie recipe. This is great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States