Nat's Buttery Cashew Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Incredibly rich. Very easy to make. The taste is mouth-watering and addicting. I gave this 4-stars, however, because of the texture and consistency. Either I did not use the correct pan size or my proportions were off, because the consistency did not turn out how I expected. It was soft and there were not enough cashews...certain portions of the pan were just sugar/butter solidified. (I, like another reviewer, expected a brittle. Ended up taking their suggestion and refridgerated for a few minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was amazing. My husband and son couldn't get enough of it. We bought some cashew crunch from the local Amish store and this was exactly the same. Thanks so much. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very Good! I used a candy thermometer and brought it up to about 305*. It was very crunchy! I would stir more often than suggested, though. I had to stir almost constantly to keep the cashews from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Tasted great. Like others have posted though, it wasn't a crunch. It was chewy. I even put it in the fridge like another poster suggested. Maybe it needs to be heated to a higher temp? I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used the cold water test along with the thermometer and it still came out soft. After 10 minutes I put it in the fridge for an hour and it hardened up a bit...but, no where near the amount for it to be called a crunch. Other than that it's absolutely delicious and everyone loved it. I just called it a Cashew Melt-in-your-mouth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I used a candy thermometer and followed the recipe exactly. It turned out perfect!! Thanks for the great recipe Nat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaSusanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Natalie is my daughter, and I'm not saying this stuff is out of this world for that reason. We all love when she makes this, it always goes pretty fast in the house. Best ever cashew crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
WONDERFUL!! I don't trust candy thermometers-so I use the cold water test. I also put it in the fridge while it cools (mostly to keep my children from putting their fingers in it) have never had a problem with it turning out chewy as other reveiwers have. This is a wonderful recipe and VERY ADDICTIVE!! Thanks Nat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Be careful! Nuts easily burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I too had an issue on the correct temp. If you do not trust your gauge, I would suggest going by the water test or better yet the color of the crunch. Mine was a bit lighter than the photo. The next time I made it, I let it go past the 290 mark and it turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States