Nat's Buttery Cashew Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this for Easter this year. We have a friend that makes really good buttery brittle but she would never give us her recipe. I was determined to make a better brittle. This recipe was a hit! I don't have to worry about getting the friends recipe anymore. Thanks for sharing Natalie! You rock!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent! Tastes great and everyone loves it. I used almonds the first time and am trying cashews on the next batch. Turned out great, but do keep stirring. It would be easy to burn. This is a nice simple recipe that I will use repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have never made brittle before, but this turned out well for me once I figured out a couple of elements. Notes: Use a heavy-bottomed, smaller size sauce pan. I cooked on medium heat instead of high and heated it up more slowly to prevent scorching. I think this also helps ensure a more "crisp" brittle. I did not have any issues with chewiness. I think stirring continually is also important. My cashews were the chopped up variety instead of whole pieces which made it easier to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is awesome! It came out perfect the first time. (I do not have a candy thermometer so when it thickened and was golden I took it off the heat and put it on buttered foil.). I did throw in extra cashews and let it cool in the freezer because we couldn't wait to try it. Will have to hide it next time...I could not keep my family out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJWood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Turned out perfect the second time around. The only change made was to stir constantly. After it cooled I coated the pieces in white chocalate. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
The best ever and at a 1/8th of the cost to buy and the taste is heavenly !!!! You can't buy it tasting this great !!!!!!! I rate it a 10++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I tried the recipe over the holidays and it was well received by everyone that tried it. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Be careful! Nuts easily burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I too had an issue on the correct temp. If you do not trust your gauge, I would suggest going by the water test or better yet the color of the crunch. Mine was a bit lighter than the photo. The next time I made it, I let it go past the 290 mark and it turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe! I am a baker and just started experimenting with candies and this is a great recipe. make sure when doing any candies like this to use a thermometer to ensure good end product. Ice water procedure is good too. When testing drops in ice water just remember that what comes out of the ice water is what your end product will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States