Natchitoches Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Good recipe! I changed up the filling a little by leaving out the pork sausage; added 1/2 a chopped green pepper, 1/2 of a chopped celery stalk and 3 minced garlic cloves to the onion in the roux. I browned the meat (barely). I added about another tsp of Cajun seasoning, and about 1-2 tsp of ground cayenne, as well as a pinch of sea salt and a few shakes of garlic powder after browning meat. Make it to your taste! I've tried frying the pies in the past, but they were too heavy. This time I made my own pie dough. Good, but a little too hard to hold. Hot tip: use refrig. crescent roll dough; take a piece a little larger than a walnut and roll out. Works great and tastes great!! Brush top with butter towards end of baking; Use instructions on package to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
We loved these pies. I thought they were spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
When my husband says 'We're going to Jazz Fest', the first thing I think of are these delicious little packets of tasty meat and pie crust. So when I found this recipe I was really excited. I made these today (exactly as the recipe says) and I was a litte impressed but I think I'll make a few changes next time. The meat filling is good (even though I had to make my own Cajun seasoning living up here in NJ) but after reading other reviews I think I'll add a little green bell pepper next time. I was able to get 15 pies out of 2 store bought pie crusts but whatever you do, do not fry them. They don't fry well. The seams come apart letting all of the oil seep in and making them almost sickening. Thank goodness I only fried five of them. The other ten are in the oven baking right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love the recipe. I substituted minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I also used crescent rolls instead of pie crust. I baked mine. My husband loves these. He wouldn't mind if I made them every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Fam loved these! Get Hidden Valley's Spicy Ranch dressing for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very Bland. Made as per directions. The only way I salvaged this was to make chili out of the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I didnt exactly follow the recipe but loved what the outcome was. I used 1.5 lbs of ground beef season with cayenne, garlic powder and salt...browned with onion and fresh garlic...then added roux with water to cook down together...then I added diced zuchinni...I poured mixture in a unbaked pre-made dough...added slits for steam...and baked for 30 min. Was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I hate to rate this low, as I LOVE Natchitoches meat pies (that's pronounced "Nack-a-tsh" btw), but this recipe needed some work to get it where it needed to be. First, onion, celery and bell pepper cooked in the roux are a must. Then chopped garlic, then I added my meat, and immediately turned the burner off *before* the meat could brown - if anything it just got a bit "gray." Then I seasoned with a heavy-handed blend of white, black and cayenne pepper. Meanwhile, I re-rolled pkg'ed crust into about 12 5" circles (will DEF make my own crust next time, that was a pain) and put about 2T of filling into each pie, placing each on a greased pan after forming the pies and cutting tiny slits in the top for steam to escape. I then baked for about 30 minutes at 350. But here's what sends this over the top - you should have quite a bit of meat mixture left over at this point - now you can go ahead and brown it and use that to make gravy, either from scratch or with a brown gravy mix - it is phenomenal over mashed potatoes and the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made these for my card group at my house and they were met with rave reviews. I used more pie crusts than it stated and I baked them to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Good meat pie, but a little tame. I added some extra hot sauce. I suggest you bake them. I fried them in oil and they were good but too greasy and fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States