Natalie's Coconut Spice Elixir Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Instead of crushed ice, I used one very large frozen banana. I also used one packet Truvia instead of white sugar and nonfat milk. My oldest son and I split this smoothie for breakfast this morning. Both he and I thought that this is a great flavored smoothie--adding the banana made it even better, imo. The issue we had was the flax seed. It gave it a weird texture that made it.......unappealing, putting it nicely. I'd like to try this again and possibly omit the flax seed. I think that's really the only thing we didn't like about it, everything else about this smoothie was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I was excited to finally try this recipe, as it has been in my recipe box for a long time... But I was a little disappointed! I only had about a cup of ice on hand, but I'm sure that didn't affect the recipe that much. I used freshly ground nutmeg, maybe about 1/4 teaspoon and it was just right. I think the cinnamon could be reduced to half a teaspoon too. I'm thinking that 2 tablespoons of honey and omitting the sugar would be better. Make sure to finely ground your flax or it will be gritty. I don't mind the texture though. This might be good with some fruit... While writing this review I remembered that I had some bananas in the freezer. Poured the remainder of my glass back in the blender with the rest and added a banana. With this addition, you could cut out the sugar and leave the honey as is, depending on how ripe the banana is. Also, the coconut flavour weakens this way... The coconut milk should be increased to 3/4 cup to a cup and the milk decreased to 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup. Next time I will make sure to use the full amount of ice and test out my tweaks, then it will be a 4 or 5 for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I wish I could give this more than 3 stars. I was able to drink most of it but it had a gritty texture, especially toward the bottom, that was a bit off-putting. I did finely grind my flax seeds. The taste was okay, but the nutmeg (I used freshly ground) was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
pretty good- very creamy, i like it would be better with a little fruit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber (and Morgan) Weimer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is so good! I fantasize about this smoothie when I've run out of coconut milk and can't make it. I need to stock up so that that doesn't happen anymore. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I didn't think that ecopolitan approved of sugar so I am surprised at this addition and wonder if it wouldn't be as good without that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
great! I think it's wonderful, uniqe, and smart, if you asked me! It's really different. Plus, I can't breathe without it! It's like an organ In my body! Can't stay away! I Reccommend it for all first time cookers or bakers, becuase it's fun, good, and festive! At first my little sister wouldn't eat it becuase she thought it "looked icky", bit when I finally convinced her to try some, she ate nearly all of it!Thank's for this awesome recipe lol! I will definetaly, by all means, make this recipe more than I have already. Remember, once you try it, you won't put it back down! Thanx again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I tried this recipe and it was absolutely awesome! Can't wait until I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Spicy Pumpkin Spice Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite fall latte at home.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States