Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
We have been making this salad for years in my family. Instead of cider vinegar we use seasoned rice vinegar and instead of vegatable oil we use peanut oil. Never put dressing in the fridge. You must heat the dressing to a boil to make sure the sugar is dissolved. I always use at least 2-3packages of ramen noodles and slivered almonds. And to cook the crunchies I use 2 tablespoons olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter. Always add crunchies after you have mixed the dressing in. I have used coleslaw salad instead of napa in a hurry and no one ever complains. However napa is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I have just about had it with people changing the recipes and writing about it in the reviews/ratings. Just make it a new recipe and post it under a new name! This is a great salad! I have been making this salad for several years and always get rave reviews. I have had more requests for this recipe than I can count. I always use 1/4 cup of butter, melt it in a skillet and brown the almonds, sesame seeds and noodles. Increase the noodles to two packages, minus the seasoning package. The noodles are better if you break them up well, I put them in a plastic bag and break them with a rolling pin, just don't pulverize them. Use sliced almonds rather than silvered almonds. The dressing is much better if it is heated and boiled for the 1 minute, it dissolves the sugar. This salad is just not the same without the Napa cabbage. I cut the whole cabbage in half, cut each half three times lengthwise, then slice it across in about 1/2 inch slices. This works well for me. I must stress to let everything cool before mixing with the cabbage. Mix at the last minute before serving because the crunchies will get soggy, as stated in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
5-Stars just as written! No doctoring up required. I did feel there was a tad more butter than necessary for the crunchies (but maybe that's just me). I can see where this would be an easy "make ahead" dish to transport to an event and assemble just before serving. Adding this one to my "Favorites" List. UPDATE: I have found a way to "lighten" this salad without losing any of the flavors: I spray the crunchies with butter spray before I bake them & use brown sugar Splenda in place of the sugar. Other than the oil, you have a Weight Watcher's friendly meal on your hands. A regular in our house now. My teenaged son loves it too and the dressing is GREAT on baked chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Hearing people rate this recipe, but switching everything only makes it sound confusing to me. My husband made this for me and he FOLLOWED the RECIPE EXACTLY! WE BOTH LOVED IT! We were both pleasantly surprised how well the ingredients blended together. WE WILL MAKE AGAIN, JUST AS IS! ~Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Perfect potluck dish for traveling! Here's how: make the dressing at home, let it cool and pour into a leakproof container, and seal the container in a ziplock bag. Gladlocks will leak! Toast the crunchies on the stovetop (in REAL butter, never the stuff in the tub!) and put crunchies in a container or quart-size ziplock bag. When you toast the nuts in real butter (not margarine), as the butter browns, the nuts become a little bit salty, and they offset the sweetness of the dressing. Do NOT use the seasoning packet; too much unhealthy sodium and MSG. Throw it away, it was only twenty cents and you're doing your body a favor. Nuts are heart- healthy; we prefer a mixture of pine nuts, sunflower seeds and sliced almonds because they look better and add texture. Use your nicest large bowl and tongs, and use the pre-shredded bag-o-cabbage to save time. When you arrive at your destination, put the cabbage in the bowl. As people line up to eat, add the dressing, a can of drained mandarin oranges, 1/2 cup of dried cranberries (Craisins), and the crunchies. Stir well to coat everything, but don't add the dressing too early or it gets soggy. This salad does not do well as a leftover. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Delicious! I didn't change a thing on the first try, but I will next time. I am in the camp that says "you can't have too much butter" but 1/2 cup really IS too much. I think 1/4 would be plenty, since with 1/2 I had to spoon the ingredients out of the butter and drain on paper towels. The sweet dressing is a refreshing change of pace. I'd like to add a sliced up grilled chicken breast and make it a whole meal and will try with peanuts for my almond allergic sibling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This salad is delicious! The only 2 things I did different is cut the oil to only 1/2 cup instead of 3/4, and it did not change it a bit. I also cut back on the butter to mix the ramen noodles, almonds and seseme with. It tasted great to me. Everyone who has ever been served this loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mish1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Really good. I used cabbage from my garden. I didn't have almonds so I added extra sesame seeds. I also used on 1/2 the butter and 1/2 the sugar. The dressing was still REALLY sweet. It was tasty but it would be great with less sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is an excellent salad! I brought this to a potluck at work and the bowl was wiped clean! I did make modifications, but I do that with almost all recipes. I used pre-shredded cole slaw mix instead of the cabbage. I doubled the recipe, and added shredded chicken and a can of manarin oranges. I also reduced the vinegar by an 1/8 of a cup and replaced it with Mandarin orange juice that I drained off the oranges. The crunchies were fantastic! The only thing that I did differently is that when toasting the crunchies, I sprinked about 1 teaspoon of the seasoning packet from the ramen noodles over it and mixed well (I used the chicken flavor). This added just a touch of saltiness to them, which matched perfectly with the sweet and sour dressing. This was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
I made this salad for guests and got so many compliments. None of it was left at the end of the meal. My husband said that I can make it "any time". I used balsamic vinegar instead of cider vinegar for a change and the dressing was even better. This will definitely become one of my favorite recipes for guests and potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States