Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2003
This is SOOO good! I made it twice in one week and then had to make it again for my sister. A great vegetarian salad! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This was sooo amazingly good! Just made this and my family went crazy over it. The ramen gets soggy kinda fast, so it might be a good idea to use it as a "topping" rather than stir it in. We didn't hava any almonds so we just used two packs of ramen. It came out just fabulous!!!!!! YUM-YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Canepa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Great Salad! I've been making this salad for years. I don't put the crunchies in the oven though, I just toast them in the pan and sprinkle on the salad, and I don't heat the dressing, but vigorously shake it. A few shortcuts that don't detract from the flavor! Great tasty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This salad is awesome--it has quickly become a favorite! Make sure not to mix in the dressing/crunchies until right before serving or it will get soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
We have been making this salad for years in my family. Instead of cider vinegar we use seasoned rice vinegar and instead of vegatable oil we use peanut oil. Never put dressing in the fridge. You must heat the dressing to a boil to make sure the sugar is dissolved. I always use at least 2-3packages of ramen noodles and slivered almonds. And to cook the crunchies I use 2 tablespoons olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter. Always add crunchies after you have mixed the dressing in. I have used coleslaw salad instead of napa in a hurry and no one ever complains. However napa is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I have just about had it with people changing the recipes and writing about it in the reviews/ratings. Just make it a new recipe and post it under a new name! This is a great salad! I have been making this salad for several years and always get rave reviews. I have had more requests for this recipe than I can count. I always use 1/4 cup of butter, melt it in a skillet and brown the almonds, sesame seeds and noodles. Increase the noodles to two packages, minus the seasoning package. The noodles are better if you break them up well, I put them in a plastic bag and break them with a rolling pin, just don't pulverize them. Use sliced almonds rather than silvered almonds. The dressing is much better if it is heated and boiled for the 1 minute, it dissolves the sugar. This salad is just not the same without the Napa cabbage. I cut the whole cabbage in half, cut each half three times lengthwise, then slice it across in about 1/2 inch slices. This works well for me. I must stress to let everything cool before mixing with the cabbage. Mix at the last minute before serving because the crunchies will get soggy, as stated in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
My family and friends absolutely love it when I make this recipe! The only thing I change, is that I add a can of mandarin oranges when I toss it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Don't forget to add the ramen spice packet to the dressing (why waste a good thing--I prefer the chicken flavor). You may also consider adding a little sesame oil and pepper to the dressing as well. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I agree, this salad is wonderful, however, my husband and I have now adapted it to be healthier. We took the origianl recipe and made some substitutions and now have this salad down to less than 200 calories a serving and very little fat. It is so delicious and our changes made the taste even lighter so you can eat more if you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
When I make this salad I always sugar the almonds. Put them in a pan with a little sugar and heat til caramelized. Then cool on a plate and break up into pieces. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States