Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love this salad. It's not necessary the healthiest salad, but it's so good and really filling. So, just because of the guilty factor I modify a bit. Reduce the oil to 1/2 cup for the dressing and 1/4 cup butter, which I am thinking that could reduce to bit more the next time. I cut up all the nappa and green onion and put it in the tappa wear. Then, just take as much as you eat on the plate + sprinkle crunchies +dressing. It get soggy quickly, so this works the best. I even add some canned mandarin oranges on the top. It add some colors and works out wonderfully. One more adjustment would be using rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar. To me it gives better tanginess rather than extra sweetness from the vinegar. Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Had to use regular cabbage but this was wonderful and despite the criticisms, was still tasty the next day if not quite as crunchy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is outstanding! I made two batches for a family gathering and both bowls were licked clean. I will continue making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is so incredibly addictive. I wish it was better for you, but it is SO, SO good! Thank you for the recipe. I did have to cook the crunchy bits longer than it said, but it was worth it for that beautiful golden brown color and buttery crunch:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kümmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was a hit! I took it to a potluck and I heard two people fighting over the last scrappings in the bowl! I hope to try it with actual Napa cabbage next time. The store I went to only had one little head left that looked pretty bad so I opted for the bagged coleslaw. I used 2 packages of Ramen noodles with the recommended amount of butter and that worked out perfectly. I cook with unsalted butter so I added salt, garlic and paprika to the crunchies when they came out of the oven, just to taste. Like other cooks, I went with sliced almonds rather than slivered almonds-just a personal preference. I also used organic sugar which tends to be less sweet than regular refined sugar, so I could see how it could be a bit too sweet as stated. Otherwise fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Awesome recipe, if you can't find napa cabbage you can get the mixed cabbage with carrots and that works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Raub
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was great! I made extra crunchies to put on my regular lettuce salads for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
So good, I almost ate the entire bowl myself. I just wish it wasn't so fattening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The salad was awesome but the dressing wasn't very exciting. The Asian Ginger Dressing from this site would be fantastic on this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was SO yummy, I basically ate the whole thing in 3 days. One thing I did was increase the ramen noodle packages to 2 packages and added a tiny bit more butter to compensate for the extra noodles, and I liked having the extra crispies. However I do have some left over after the cabbage is gone, so it's not totally necessary. Everything else I did exactly like the recipe and it was wonderful and SO easy. I've kept the dressing and crispies separately from the cabbage mixture, so when I've wanted this salad for lunch I've just tossed it together. This is a definite repeat at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States