Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I have prepared this salad numerous times, and always receive rave reviews. this recipe has been requested each time I have prepared it. Easy, tasty and appealing to the eye as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I have made this a handful of times and always get the same response - YUM! I'm making it again for 4th of July so I had to leave a comment, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is a great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very yummy! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe. Everytime I serve this, I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love this salad. It's not necessary the healthiest salad, but it's so good and really filling. So, just because of the guilty factor I modify a bit. Reduce the oil to 1/2 cup for the dressing and 1/4 cup butter, which I am thinking that could reduce to bit more the next time. I cut up all the nappa and green onion and put it in the tappa wear. Then, just take as much as you eat on the plate + sprinkle crunchies +dressing. It get soggy quickly, so this works the best. I even add some canned mandarin oranges on the top. It add some colors and works out wonderfully. One more adjustment would be using rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar. To me it gives better tanginess rather than extra sweetness from the vinegar. Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Had to use regular cabbage but this was wonderful and despite the criticisms, was still tasty the next day if not quite as crunchy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is outstanding! I made two batches for a family gathering and both bowls were licked clean. I will continue making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is so incredibly addictive. I wish it was better for you, but it is SO, SO good! Thank you for the recipe. I did have to cook the crunchy bits longer than it said, but it was worth it for that beautiful golden brown color and buttery crunch:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSENCE009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was a hit! I took it to a potluck and I heard two people fighting over the last scrappings in the bowl! I hope to try it with actual Napa cabbage next time. The store I went to only had one little head left that looked pretty bad so I opted for the bagged coleslaw. I used 2 packages of Ramen noodles with the recommended amount of butter and that worked out perfectly. I cook with unsalted butter so I added salt, garlic and paprika to the crunchies when they came out of the oven, just to taste. Like other cooks, I went with sliced almonds rather than slivered almonds-just a personal preference. I also used organic sugar which tends to be less sweet than regular refined sugar, so I could see how it could be a bit too sweet as stated. Otherwise fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States