Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This was a great recipe... I'll definately use this again. The only thing I'd do different is to use cake flour as opposed to all-purpose flour, to make the cake a bit less dense. I would also suggest a sweet frosting, as this cake doesn't have a very strong flavor! Overall, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
This is my great grandmother's receipe. I thought I would add a note. This is a dense cake and I never bake it in round pans I think it is do heavy to make a good layer cake. I always make a sheet cake out of it. I also usually serve with warm berries and whip cream. I mostly use blackberries and blueberries. I heat them in a sauce pan on low until they start to "melt down" then I add some honey and bring it to a boil. I then thicken it into a sauce with cornstarch. Thought I would add that note! Hope it helps those looking at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laclede, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
This cake is absolutely delicious, and so easy to make. I made it for my daughter's birthday, and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This cake was extremely easy to make and very tasty! I used it as a base cake for a recipe that I used which called for a white cake mix. It turned out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
this cake was a great cake to eat on it's own, but i added some filling and felt that it was too heavy for that particular recipe. Next time i'll try a lighter cake mix. But its a great recipe with jus enough flavour, will be baking it for simple occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Delicious and simple. I found the cake had just the right amount of flavour, yet it was still neutral. I plan to make it for my daughter's first birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This was great. perfect with strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I just made this today for Father's day!! Although I cut the sugar to 3/4 C. it was still too sweet for my dad who prefers really light cakes. i found it okay tho. i also cut the milk in half and used soy since my mom is lactose intolerant. still came out great! as if i bought a premixed box!! i unfortunately didn't oil the pan enough and the cake came out in pieces. but nevertheless, tasted great frosted with whipped cream and topped with strawberries! thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I loved this recipe, it was very simple and I didn't need to go out and buy any special ingredients which is what I liked about it the most. I made the cake in a 9x13 pan, it turned out very moist. I did alter it a little by adding a couple of TBSPs of peanut butter. I used a peanut butter frosting on the cake when it was still warm and let the frosting harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Excellent cake! I only made changes for our high altitude and pan size (I used a 9x13). Cake is very flavorful and moist. After we ate some plain, then we made a Poke Cake out of the rest with all natural strawberry jello. Great both ways. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States